Search Unity

Dark Soul's Style World Messages

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by LiberLogic969, Mar 17, 2017.

1. LiberLogic969

LiberLogic969

How difficult would a dark souls style messaging system be to implement with Unity Networking? If you are unfamiliar with the system it allows players to place objects into the world with messages created from preset sentence pieces. Other players who are in the same area on their own instance of the game can interact and read these messages.

I really have no clue where to begin looking into something like this since I have zero experience or knowledge about net coding in general.

While I'm at it... What about the "Ghost Player" and "Blood Pool" networking functionality that's in the souls series? How difficult is something like that?

Any tips or suggestions on where I should start would be greatly appreciated :)

Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
  2. voodoo

voodoo

These would require a centralized server hosted by you. The game should use an HTTP request and fetch formatted message data (XML/JSON would be appropriate for this) from the central database for a particular level, which includes an array of message objects, each with the position/orientation and message text. You would iterate this data and instantiate your messages accordingly. For the 'ghost replays', you would likely want to return binary files encoded in your own manner as text-based formats are inefficient for a large arrays of small data.

Since you don't have net experience I would postpone this type of feature for later as you will need to learn quite a few things: server-side programming and binary format design are both rather deep subjects and that kind of feature isn't integral to the experience, at least from Dark Souls' design view.

tl;dr How difficult would it be: