Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Damped transform stretching issues

Discussion in 'Animation Rigging' started by avishai_unity, Jul 20, 2022.

  1. avishai_unity

    avishai_unity

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    Hello, when I try to set up damped transforms for a snake-like creature (as in the unity boss example), the positions still seem to be damped when I'm moving the parent transform, even though the position slider is on 0.
    Any idea how to deal with this? (I have checked unity's example project, and it occurs there as well if you speed up the boss)
     
  2. daniel_lochner

    daniel_lochner

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Posts:
    175
    Also experiencing this issue! @simonbz
     
    avishai_unity likes this.
  3. daniel_lochner

    daniel_lochner

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Posts:
    175
  4. avishai_unity

    avishai_unity

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Posts:
    7
  5. mechanicarts

    mechanicarts

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    I believe it's some kind of accumulation if you use forced movement (ie Transform.translate or a Tweening plugin).
    There is no inherent way to clear accumulation.

    The only way to get past it is to disable the Damped Transform component on all joints and write your own damping. I have no clue how to do this.
     
  6. avishai_unity

    avishai_unity

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    I mean, it also happens in ANY kind of movement ,physics included.
    Seems like a bug to me.
    Will probably write our own damping, yea
     
  7. DenizCetinalp

    DenizCetinalp

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Yep, I had to switch the damped transform with my own solution.
     
  8. mechanicarts

    mechanicarts

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Do you mind sharing your solution?
     
  9. simonbz

    simonbz

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Posts:
    295
    Hi!

    This looks like a bug. I am not able to reproduce this behaviour with our samples though, so I'm not quite sure what you're doing to create this issue... Can someone please log a bug using the Unity bug reporter? This is the best way to report issues to us. If you cross-reference this thread in your bug report, we can report back any findings we make back to this thread.