Search Unity

Question Custom Multi-Pass Post Process Effect HDRP

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by Frostbite23, Aug 23, 2020.

1. Frostbite23

Frostbite23

Hello, long time user here (of unity, not HDRP), and I'm stuck on what seems like a rather simple issue.

I've been porting an effect I made in the regular standard pipeline, and I'm close to completion though it's just been an absolute nightmare at this point. I should note I'm relatively new to scripting with this specific pipeline and I've been searching around on how I can do this in HDRP for a post process effect. Yet seemingly for some reason no one has asked this question anywhere and it drives me nuts trying to figure out how to work with this behemoth of a pipeline. But anyways on to my question.

In the standard pipeline, when it comes to doing multi-pass effects and you wanted to get the render target of the pass you would simply do something like this.

Code (CSharp):
    1. var compColor = RenderTexture.GetTemporary(context.width, context.height, 0, RenderTextureFormat.ARGBHalf);
    2. var blurFilter1 = RenderTexture.GetTemporary(context.width, context.height, 0, RenderTextureFormat.ARGBHalf);
    3. var blurFilter2 = RenderTexture.GetTemporary(context.width, context.height, 0, RenderTextureFormat.ARGBHalf);
    4. var sceneColor = RenderTexture.GetTemporary(context.width, context.height, 0, RenderTextureFormat.ARGBHalf);
    6. command.BlitFullscreenTriangle(sceneColor, context.destination, sheet, 0);
    7. command.BlitFullscreenTriangle(context.source, compColor, sheet, 1);
    8. command.BlitFullscreenTriangle(compColor, blurFilter1, sheet, 2);
    9. command.BlitFullscreenTriangle(blurFilter1, blurFilter2, sheet, 3);
    10. sheet.properties.SetTexture("_SceneColor", sceneColor);
    11. context.command.BlitFullscreenTriangle(blurFilter2, context.destination, sheet, 5);
    13. RenderTexture.ReleaseTemporary(compColor);