Search Unity

Custom Inspector: Draw standard editor for serialized class

Discussion in 'Immediate Mode GUI (IMGUI)' started by sz-Bit-Barons, Jan 5, 2016.

1. sz-Bit-Barons

sz-Bit-Barons

Hi,

I have a custom Inspector for a MonoBehaviour.
    That MonoBehaviour holds a List<IAction>. All classes in my project which implement IAction are declared [Serializable].

I want to draw each Item in the list as though it where drawn with the default inspector. How do I do that?

EDIT: I just realized that I don't have a chance to do it: derived objects cannot be serialized by unity (damn it! Thats why I normally always use Full Inspector). Seems like I have to create one big class which contains all possible actions.

However the question is still valid: how to draw the default inspector for a [Serializable] class instance inside of a custom inspector?

Last edited: Jan 5, 2016
  2. AndyGainey

AndyGainey

I'm only learning myself, but I have recently been doing something similar, and found the static method Editor.CreateEditor(). I call that once for each object in the list, and then save each editor in a parallel list. Then I just have to go through the list of editors and call editor.OnInspectorGUI().