Search Unity

Custom Editor Problem: Editor folder scripts can't access external scripts

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by snowfy5, May 23, 2020.

1. snowfy5

snowfy5

Hello everyone, I'm new to working with Unity so this might be a noob question. I've briefly scoured a couple tutorials for making a custom Editor that modifies game-runtime scripts. I think I'm missing something, because I can't get any of their Editor scripts to recognize other non-editor scripts.

The two script directories are:
    Assets/RW/Scripts/TankController
    Assets/RW/Editor/TankControllerEditor

The Error: in TankControllerEditor
    the type or namespace name 'TankController' could not be found are you missing an assembly reference

Is it that Assembly-CSharp-Editor cannot access Assembly-CSharp? The guide says that Assembly-CSharp-Editor compilation happens after Assembly-CSharp, therefore it has access to the other. My references for the editor assembly has the main assembly under it.

Is something weird happening with the folder structure or VisualStudio?

Thanks for any responses in advance

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

EDIT: Disregard the remainder of this post: I confused this with the limitations of the Plugins directory, which is compiled into Assembly-CSharp-firstpass, at which point the balance of your project's classes are not yet compiled.

My original WRONG post here... IGNORE:

Unfortunately this is how it is in Unity if you put your Editor scripts in an Editor folder.

You can google it up details by asking about "compilation order in Unity3d"

The work-around is to place your Editor scripts in a "regular" folder of the game, but then encase the entire script (or at least everything that uses classes in the UnityEditor namespace) in a
    #if UNITY_EDITOR
    and
    #endif
    block. It's kinda unsightly but you get past it.

Code (csharp):
    1. #if UNITY_EDITOR
    2. using UnityEditor;
    4. public class MyEditor : Editor
    5. {
    6.   // foo
    7. }