Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

currently selected scripting backend(il2cpp) is not installed

Discussion in 'VR' started by Elmowu, Nov 20, 2017.

  1. Elmowu

    Elmowu

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I just installed Unity2017.2.0
    Error while building "currently selected scripting backend(il2cpp) is not installed"
    How can fix? thank
    擷取.JPG
     
    jacksonkr and unity_xela like this.
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    In Unity installer, select "Windows Store IL2CPP scripting backend" component.
     
  3. kookyoo

    kookyoo

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Posts:
    52
    Hi,
    Is there any way to download the IL2CPP scripting backend installer without using the whole assistant please ?
     
    worldofvrgmbh, syed06411 and Deeeds like this.
  4. JoshPeterson

    JoshPeterson

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    6,881
    No, I don't think this is possible now.
     
    art092 likes this.
  5. solarisn

    solarisn

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    @kookyoo It is possible if you use the newly released Unity Hub to download and manage your Unity versions. Killer functionality IMO.
     
  6. elhispano

    elhispano

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Thanks!
     
    Wartoghex likes this.
  7. Deeeds

    Deeeds

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Posts:
    739
    Please bring back unique downloads of each install component. It saves downloading everything multiple times for each computer.

    PLEASE.

    This kind of service regression, in light of how frequent updates are, is unwelcome.
     
  8. MaryInvents34

    MaryInvents34

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Posts:
    15
  9. Deeeds

    Deeeds

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Posts:
    739
    THANK YOU!!

    I'm already well through using the normal installer, but haven't used the custom install to specify a download folder. In this situation, can I find the downloads on my computer somewhere?

    and... how would somebody become aware of this feature if they don't already know about it?
     
    GPSTVR likes this.
  10. Deeeds

    Deeeds

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Posts:
    739
    To those working at Unity who care about the user experience, the number of topics needed to explain installing Unity might be a key indicator something's wrong with the way you desire your users to install their software:


    Screen Shot 2018-09-17 at 9.02.41 pm.png
     
  11. AviBan

    AviBan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Yes, it is true that the entire Unity have to be re-installed by selecting the needed packages. I was also facing similar issue which is quoted here. I switched to the newest version and checked the packages at the very beginning of the Unity installer and things got working after that!
     
  12. LilGames

    LilGames

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    560
    Great to know, yet you don't say HOW.
     
    Monki_Games likes this.
  13. dzc10

    dzc10

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Here:
     
  14. OneManArmy3D

    OneManArmy3D

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    189
    and few months later they removed "Add Component"... f*ing amazing.
     
  15. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    It was just renamed to "Add modules". Not removed:

    upload_2019-7-15_15-7-14.png
     
  16. OneManArmy3D

    OneManArmy3D

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    189
    When you added editor in HUB via "LOCATE", you don't have option "Add Modules".
    Only when you install editor via HUB.
    That was the problem.

    I figured it out 10 min later and i wanted to edit my comment, but i couldn't find this topic...
    I remember in past i could find list of all my posts in my profile page.
    Am i blind, or forum lost some functionality?
     
  17. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Click on your user name -> Find all content by OneManArmy3D
     
    OneManArmy3D likes this.
  18. OneManArmy3D

    OneManArmy3D

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    189
    Got ya. I was clicking on my username in top right corner and it opens account page. But if you hover over username then pops up window where you can open Profile Page and Your Content.
    Thanks.
     
  19. deus0

    deus0

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Posts:
    256
    Hey, The IL2CPP module is missing for Unity 2019.3b, is there an estimate on release or is my unity hub bugged?
     
    LazloBonin likes this.
  20. hummer_4x4

    hummer_4x4

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Posts:
    25
  21. JoshPeterson

    JoshPeterson

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    6,881
    This is a known issue which is being corrected now. The fix for the installer should be out soon.
     
  22. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    LelandGreen, e45240, deus0 and 2 others like this.
  23. Adil_Alhilali

    Adil_Alhilali

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    I am using Unity 2019.3 and that happened.

    to solve this go to
    Unity Hub
    Installs
    Add Module
    Windows Build Support (IL2CPP)
    selected it and press install

    upload_2020-6-3_20-5-28.png
     
    sonic_97, nathjyo, Fullizz and 3 others like this.
  24. SolidShane

    SolidShane

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I have IL2CPP installed in my project it still says its not installed I am using 2019.10f. Anyone else have this issue and find a fix?
     
  25. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    What exactly does it say? Do you have a screenshot?
     
  26. Suryansh55

    Suryansh55

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Posts:
    16
    @Tautvydas-Zilys Hii there , I have installed Windows Build Support , but whenever I try to build using Il2cpp scripting backend it throws an error that il2cpp did not run properly , there is no answer for it in any forums so if you can help me out here I will really appreciate it . I am attaching pics aswell.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      850.1 KB
      Views:
      574
    • 2.png
      2.png
      File size:
      181.9 KB
      Views:
      595
    • 3.png
      3.png
      File size:
      169.8 KB
      Views:
      564
  27. Mauri

    Mauri

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    2,662
    Click once on the error in the Console and you should see additional lines of information. (The Editor.log file may also be helpful - see Log Files). Without these, it'll be hard to figure out why you're getting the error.

    If it's your first time installing/using IL2CPP, then it could be that you're missing things like the "Game development with C++" module for Visual Studio and/or the Windows 10 SDK.
     
  28. Suryansh55

    Suryansh55

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Posts:
    16
    Hii there @Mauri I did install Game development with C++ and Win 10 SDK but am still getting the same error :


    Win32Exception: ApplicationName='C:\Program Files\Unity\2020.1.17f1\Editor\Data\il2cpp/build/deploy/netcoreapp3.0/il2cpp.exe', CommandLine='--convert-to-cpp --emit-null-checks --enable-array-bounds-check --dotnetprofile="unityaot" --compile-cpp --libil2cpp-static --platform="WindowsDesktop" --architecture="x86" --configuration="Release" --outputpath="E:\UnityProjects\SampleIl2\Temp/StagingArea/Data\Native\GameAssembly.dll" --cachedirectory="E:\UnityProjects\SampleIl2\Assets\..\Library/il2cpp_cache" --baselib-directory="C:/Program Files/Unity/2020.1.17f1/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/WindowsStandaloneSupport\Variations\win32_nondevelopment_il2cpp" --avoid-dynamic-library-copy --incremental-g-c-time-slice=3 --profiler-report --map-file-parser="C:/Program Files/Unity/2020.1.17f1/Editor/Data/Tools/MapFileParser/MapFileParser.exe" --directory=E:/UnityProjects/SampleIl2/Temp/StagingArea/Data/Managed --generatedcppdir=E:/UnityProjects/SampleIl2/Temp/StagingArea/Data/il2cppOutput ', CurrentDirectory='E:\UnityProjects\SampleIl2\Temp\StagingArea\Data\Managed', Native error= The requested operation requires elevation.

    System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithCreateProcess (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo startInfo) (at <aa976c2104104b7ca9e1785715722c9d>:0)
    System.Diagnostics.Process.Start () (at <aa976c2104104b7ca9e1785715722c9d>:0)
    (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.Diagnostics.Process.Start()
    UnityEditor.Utils.Program.Start (System.EventHandler exitCallback) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEditor.Utils.Program.Start () (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEditorInternal.Runner.RunProgram (UnityEditor.Utils.Program p, System.String exe, System.String args, System.String workingDirectory, UnityEditor.Scripting.Compilers.CompilerOutputParserBase parser) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEditorInternal.Runner.RunNetCoreProgram (System.String exe, System.String args, System.String workingDirectory, UnityEditor.Scripting.Compilers.CompilerOutputParserBase parser, System.Action`1[T] setupStartInfo) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPBuilder.RunIl2CppWithArguments (System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] arguments, System.Action`1[T] setupStartInfo, System.String workingDirectory) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPBuilder.ConvertPlayerDlltoCpp (UnityEditor.Il2Cpp.Il2CppBuildPipelineData data, System.String outputDirectory, System.String workingDirectory, System.Boolean platformSupportsManagedDebugging) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPBuilder.Run () (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPUtils.RunIl2Cpp (System.String stagingAreaData, UnityEditorInternal.IIl2CppPlatformProvider platformProvider, System.Action`1[T] modifyOutputBeforeCompile, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry runtimeClassRegistry) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    DesktopStandalonePostProcessor.SetupStagingArea (UnityEditor.Modules.BuildPostProcessArgs args, System.Collections.Generic.HashSet`1[T] filesToNotOverwrite) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    DesktopStandalonePostProcessor.PostProcess (UnityEditor.Modules.BuildPostProcessArgs args) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    Rethrow as BuildFailedException: Exception of type 'UnityEditor.Build.BuildFailedException' was thrown.
    DesktopStandalonePostProcessor.PostProcess (UnityEditor.Modules.BuildPostProcessArgs args) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEditor.Modules.DefaultBuildPostprocessor.PostProcess (UnityEditor.Modules.BuildPostProcessArgs args, UnityEditor.BuildProperties& outProperties) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEditor.PostprocessBuildPlayer.Postprocess (UnityEditor.BuildTargetGroup targetGroup, UnityEditor.BuildTarget target, System.String installPath, System.String companyName, System.String productName, System.Int32 width, System.Int32 height, UnityEditor.BuildOptions options, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry usedClassRegistry, UnityEditor.Build.Reporting.BuildReport report) (at <c84609c921cb488481d7d8a5fcdf9588>:0)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(Int32, IntPtr, Boolean&)
     
  29. Mauri

    Mauri

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    2,662
    @Suryansh55 There's this part of your log:
    Basically, what it means is that you'll need to launch the Unity Editor with admin privileges (src). Then try building again and it should work this time.

    To give the Editor admin privileges, right click on the Editor executable (Unity.exe) and choose "Run as Administrator" from the list.
     
    deus0 likes this.
  30. Suryansh55

    Suryansh55

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks @Mauri , it worked like charm although I can't open it through Unity Hub but that won't be a problem I will use Mono for testing and use Il2cpp for final product . Thanks again and sorry , you had to spend time in such a simple question
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      758.9 KB
      Views:
      471
  31. ahmedaniss

    ahmedaniss

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    98
    problem fixed here :
     
  32. Tomcat9

    Tomcat9

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Absolutely agree. It becomes a serious problem when there are so many threads and problems users are having with just installing additional components etc. What's wrong with just a simple, normal good old fashioned download? No need to try and reinvent the wheel with all of this unnecessary "Unity Hub" download nonsense.
     
    deus0 likes this.
  33. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    You can still do that. We have a download archive page: https://unity3d.com/get-unity/download/archive

    Find desired version, press "Release notes" (for instance https://unity3d.com/unity/whats-new/2022.1.5) and it will have direct links to all the Unity component downloads.
     
    radiantboy likes this.
  34. Gillissie

    Gillissie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Posts:
    304
    @Tautvydas-Zilys Using Hub 3.3.0 with Mac Intel version of Unity 2020.3.7f1, but there is no option to install IL2CPP for Windows.
    Screen Shot 2022-10-25 at 1.43.39 AM.jpg
     
  35. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    That's because building with IL2CPP for Windows is only supported on Windows editor.
     
  36. Gillissie

    Gillissie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Posts:
    304
    Oh... is that mentioned anywhere in the documentation or in the hub's installer? That would be good information to know.
     
  37. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    It's on our system requirements page: https://docs.unity3d.com/2021.3/Documentation/Manual/system-requirements.html

     
  38. Gillissie

    Gillissie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Posts:
    304
    ExcaliburGames likes this.
  39. HAMILCAR_TECHNOLOGIES

    HAMILCAR_TECHNOLOGIES

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Gillissie Absolutely right about your suggestion , kept searching why i don't have that module on my mac and found that it's not supported when building with a mac
     
  40. hangryanimals

    hangryanimals

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    So what's the latest on this one? MAc intel build IL2CPP installed but still fails to compile in XCode. This was building last week. Seems very unstable. Using 2022.2.11f1 rn as has been used for the entirety of this App build for the last month without issues.
     
  41. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    What's the error you're getting?
     
  42. hangryanimals

    hangryanimals

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    2 duplicate reports for Sandbox: il2cpp(20641) deny(1) file-read-data /Users/meApps/DD_Build/Il2CppOutputProject/IL2CPP/build/deploy_x86_64/libhostfxr.dylib (in target 'GameAssembly' from project 'Unity-iPhone')

    chmod: /Users/me/Apps/DD_Build/Il2CppOutputProject/IL2CPP/build/deploy_x86_64/bee_backend/mac-x86_64/bee_backend: No such file or directory

    Failed to load /Users/me/Apps/DD_Build/Il2CppOutputProject/IL2CPP/build/deploy_x86_64/libhostfxr.dylib, error: dlopen(/Users/me/Apps/DD_Build/Il2CppOutputProject/IL2CPP/build/deploy_x86_64/libhostfxr.dylib, 0x0001): tried: '/Users/me/Apps/DD_Build/Il2CppOutputProject/IL2CPP/build/deploy_x86_64/libhostfxr.dylib' (file system sandbox blocked open()), '/System/Volumes/Preboot/Cryptexes/OS/Users/mintypoohs/Apps/DD_Build/Il2CppOutputProject/IL2CPP/build/deploy_x86_64/libhostfxr.dylib' (no such file), '/Users/me/Apps/DD_Build/Il2CppOutputProject/IL2CPP/build/deploy_x86_64/libhostfxr.dylib' (file system sandbox blocked open())

    The library libhostfxr.dylib was found, but loading it from /Users/me/Apps/DD_Build/Il2CppOutputProject/IL2CPP/build/deploy_x86_64/libhostfxr.dylib failed

    - Installing .NET prerequisites might help resolve this problem.

    https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=2063366


    This is an iOS build from Unity and im seing this GameAssembly build profile has been added when it wasn't there before.

    I've instlled .NET prerequisites but no change.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2023
  43. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Did you by any chance built a project from Unity on another machine and downloaded the Xcode project onto your Mac? "file system sandbox blocked open()" suggests to me the project is quarantined.