Search Unity

Curious about where there might be a scripting need

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by sarynth, May 16, 2017.

1. sarynth

sarynth

Howdy,

I've just begun to explore the Unity3d multiverse. I am a fairly competent developer, and I'm curious to know if there's a particular sub-category in scripting that could use a nice clean free or paid (or both) asset.

It looks like there are quite a few script assets in GUI, and a decent number but not too many in AI. Is there some challenge that might benefit from having another skilled developer tackle with a fresh set of eyes?

I am directly interested as a potential to create a clean easy to integrate package that may become a bestseller if executed well. But, I'm also interested as I'm going to be diving into making my own game, and as I've experienced in other industries, building a clean reusable module is often a great learning experience. I've gotten pretty good at that.

Thanks for any ideas or direction.

-Dustin

2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Moved to general discussion. Scripting forum is for actual scripting, not generally discussing the topic in relation to assets.

3. mysticfall

mysticfall

I cannot think of a new type of scripting asset for now, which we don't have in Asset Store yet. But I suppose such ones like Zenject or UniRx could be the kind of assets you are looking for, so you might want to search for such common programming practices like DI or Rx which haven't found their way into the game development field yet, and create assets which implement them.

I'll offer my first born to anyone who'll find a working solution to allow me to use mixins (as in Scala) in C# on Unity environment. But I suppose it won't be easy to do that, and maybe there won't be too many people beside me who would want such a feature.