Search Unity

Cube world type game - could do with some tips!

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by iamkingjoe, Apr 22, 2019.

1. iamkingjoe

iamkingjoe

Hi all.
    I'm new to Unity, but have watched some tutorials and know a little of the basics. I have some friends and family members who create successful Android/iOS games so they may be able to help me. I'm quite interested in game developing, so I started with Unity.

The plan:
    -Making a 3D cube world style game with several skills to level etc.

I know this will be a big project as it will be an Indie game development however I am willing to put loads of time into this.

-Graphics.
    I know 3D graphics design can be a big pile of work, so the idea is to keep it relatively simple, but attractive. I want to do this by making the graphics similar to those of CubeWorld: items consist of small cubes & the textures are plain/easy on the eyes. To create items, I have found a very simple tool called Zoxel, which one of my friends told me about.

-The world
    This is probably my biggest problem as of right now and my main focus. I would adore to have that of a terrain such as cubeworld. The random generation in cubeworld is literally the exact thing I'm looking for in my game. After I have sorted this I will need to create biomes and merge them together so it's a smooth transition from each biome and not that of Trove. I would also like to make it so it loads chunks and can be infinite with no borders, exactly like cubeworld/minecraft.

Below are some other ideas but I don't want to get too far ahead of myself yet!
    -Animations

-Scripting, AI, Objects, Classes, that kinda stuff

-Putting everything together