Search Unity

Csound and Unity..

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by rorywalsh, May 19, 2016.

1. rorywalsh

rorywalsh

If anyone is interested, I've written a Csound wrapper for Unity. Needless to say it makes it very easy to do all sorts of procedural music, and gives users all of Csound's synthesis and audio processing tools, including ambisonic decoding/encoding, bin-aurual diffusion, OSC support, etc. It's completely open source and available on my github page:

http://rorywalsh.github.io/CsoundUnity/

Let me know if you have any questions, suggestions, or comments.

Rory.

p.s. I'm relatively new here, I hope I'm not breaking forum etiquette by posting this announcement...

Last edited: May 19, 2016
    videon, twobob, mtytel and 1 other person like this.
  2. aihodge

aihodge

Very cool, will definitely try this out. Thanks for sharing!

3. rorywalsh

rorywalsh

Let me know if you come up with anything interesting. I'm pretty new to Unity but I'm loving learning to use it. Throw in Csound and I'm in heaven.

4. laggyluk

laggyluk

Hey, nice work
    Have you any experience running it on mobile? I'm working on sort of sequencer and sound synthesis would be great addition to it. Unfortunately most of system resources is spent on drawing the UI and not much left for anything else..

5. rorywalsh

rorywalsh

I haven't had time to explore this yet, but I've used Csound for Android applications before, so technically I don't see why it wouldn't work. Lots of people have also used Csound on iOS. It would involve a bit of work. It's something I would like to add when I get the time.

6. maladie

maladie

Thanks for this. I've been a long time Csound user but relatively new to Unity. Does anyone know if something of the kind exists for MaxMSP and/or Pure Data as well since I'm more comfortable in those environments when making procedural music.

7. rorywalsh

rorywalsh