Search Unity

Cryptocurrency as in game currency

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bragiar, May 18, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bragiar

bragiar

Hi, i'm brand new to the unity game development. I saw that Unity launched cryptocurrency support for games (KIN) and I've read several threads about using an Ethereum token for in-game currency, but for my project I was thinking about using a custom cryptocurrency (based on Bitcoin) for in-game currency. Both the game and the currency is ready and currently running but I was looking to integrate the currency into the game. I've been having a hard time finding any examples or threads about this. Is this possible? Does unity support this? Or is it impossible at this moment?
    Sorry if this is a dumb question but I want to get some answers before investing a lot of time into this project.

2. Murgilod

Murgilod

Yes it's possible, but that doesn't mean it's a good idea. On top of that, if you have to ask, you're probably not ready to implement it yourself.

Crypto is honestly a terrible idea, but bitcoin is generally the worst crypto solution of them all. Proof of work is a terrible system.

Martin_H likes this.
  3. ShilohGames

ShilohGames

As a form of store of value for money, Bitcoin is awesome. After the most recent Bitcoin halving, it has the same stock to flow ratio as gold. That is the first time in literally thousand of years that any form of money has effectively challenged gold as an effective store of value. If somebody offered to pay me in Bitcoin, silver, gold, USD, or Euros, I would definitely choose the Bitcoin.

I still would never integrate Bitcoin into a game, though.

4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Just because something is possible to do, doesn't mean you're going to find ready made examples, explanations, or tutorials on how it would be done.