Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Crossfade between 2 virtual cameras. Is it possible?

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by ThunderMusic, Sep 11, 2018.

  1. ThunderMusic

    ThunderMusic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Posts:
    30
    Hello,
    I'm using Cinemachine with Timeline. I'm trying to do a simple crossfade between 2 cameras, but I can't make it work. All the tutorials around the Web are showing blending where the first camera's position blends into the second camera's position. I actually want the camera to have their own movement and crossfade between each other... not a continuous shot as if it was one camera all the way. Each camera could each be on opposite sides of the scene, so position blending is out of the question. Is there a way to do that out of the box?

    In this presentation, the presenter does it, but it's between 2 images in storyboard mode. Is there a way to do it with 2 "live" cameras?


    Thanks
     
  2. Adam_Myhill

    Adam_Myhill

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    309
    Not yet. That requires rendering the frame twice and combining them. We are working on supporting this feature with Timeline and multiple cameras but it is currently not available.

    HOWEVER, if you're crazy and want to do the most hacky version which we DO NOT recommend (but it does work, sorta) you can mess around with this.

    Put a Storyboard extension on an vcam
    Pipe a render target to the Show Image input - from some other camera rendering in the scene. Search 'using multiple cameras in Cinemachine' for more detail, or this: https://twitter.com/adamjcmyhill/status/950499865498288129?lang=en

    So now your Storyboard's image is another video stream which you can then mix together with the Alpha control.

    upload_2018-9-11_4-48-28.png

    Really though, this is ghetto business. More of a novelty hack way of doing now until we properly support it. Don't send us bugs :)
     
    ThunderMusic likes this.
  3. ThunderMusic

    ThunderMusic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Posts:
    30
    Thanks a lot. That's really appreciated. I'll try using this... it's indeed not ideal, but I guess it will do for now. Do you have a target date (I know, target dates don't mean much with R&D, I'm a programmer too) for the "official support" of a crossfade feature?
     
  4. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,532
  5. ThunderMusic

    ThunderMusic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Posts:
    30
    Thanks. I'll try that, as the other solution did not quite work in my case.