Search Unity

Creator Kits not working.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by TwistedCat, Jan 16, 2020.

1. TwistedCat

TwistedCat

I'm new to unity and game making in general, so i was very happy about the creator kits. I opened up the puzzle one, and like 500 errors appear in the console. I open up the FPS one, same thing. (invalid scripts, and stuff like that) Is there any way to fix this?

Edit: the same thing happened with Begginer Code

Last edited: Jan 16, 2020
  2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Looks like you've learned (or shortly will learn) something important already: when asking for help, be specific. Nobody can help you with error messages if you don't show what the error messages are.

You can copy/paste the first error from the Console, or you can post a screenshot showing the first several errors. Either works.

3. TwistedCat

TwistedCat

ok here:
    some screenshots from the FPS one:

before doing anything: https://imgur.com/a/I28poDu

after selecting ExampleScene and playing: https://imgur.com/a/nJ0Au6w (after some time the ones at the beggining appear too)

also i can't move, look around and don't have the gun and can't do anything really when i play and when i look at the codes they're fine but for some reason aren't valid

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

OK, the "has no metafile" errors are not real errors. They're gripes, and certainly something Unity should fix, but harmless. Same for all those warnings that appear in the first screen shot.

Click the Clear button at the top of the console window, and those should go away. Any real errors will remain. Are there any of those?

Conversely, the "referenced script is missing" warnings indicate real problems. Probably this means that you somehow loaded the scene before all the scripts were imported, or something. That's going to cause things to not work in the example scenes, though if your plan is to follow the tutorial and assemble things yourself, that will work fine.