Search Unity

Creating world on Blender, recommended?

Discussion in 'World Building' started by santiagolopezpereyra, Oct 30, 2018.

1. santiagolopezpereyra

santiagolopezpereyra

I learned Blender recently, though I've been using Unity for about a year (occupying almost exclusively a programming role through that time). Since I have no experience whatsoever on modelling with Blender for Unity (I know how to export to Unity, create convex colliders, animations and... that's about it), I was wondering whether modelling my world with Blender was a better idea than using a Terrain directly on Unity. At the top of my head I can presume Blender would allow greater flexibility when it comes to shapes, curvatures and topology, but perhaps there are some considerations to be made (for example, the Terrain component allows me to generate trees, which would be very tedious to add one by one on Blender, or place grass with a comfortable grass-brush). I also thought of the possibility of adding a blender-made world to Unity and attaching a Terrain component to it, but I looked this up on the internet and some said this was recommended and some said it was not a good idea, so I don't really know what to think. Perhaps someone with more experience on modelling and world design can aid me with this doubt. Thanks! :)

2. Flavelius

Flavelius