Search Unity

Creating turn-based mechanics: advice on how to practice using paper?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Selek-of-Vulcan, Oct 3, 2021.

1. Selek-of-Vulcan

Selek-of-Vulcan

I'm an aging hobbyist who has made a few small games in GameMaker Studio 2 (a Tetris clone, a chess engine, a terrible deck-builder), and a 5-minute visual novella in Ren'py. I'm semi-retired, and I don't need to do this for money. I just like playing and making games. I'm mostly interested in turn-based strategy games, 4X, XCOM-type things, wargames, tycoon/management, RPGs, card games, adventure games. With arthritis, I tend to avoid real-time games, though I did have fun testing my take on Tetris. I don't love puzzle games.

Anyway, I can't beat the first level of game design -- creating an interesting game loop. It's one thing to clone someone else's, as with Tetris and chess. It's another to try to create one's own, as with my terrible deck-builder. For that game, I made several prototypes with index cards, and I coded variations, and it never grabbed me. The decisions weren't interesting. This week I've made a few paper-and-dice prototypes of a management game (deploying scarce assets to stave off a threat), and each iteration was as uninspiring as the last. Either my system's reaction to player input is too obvious or too weak, so either way, the player's decision is not interesting.

I'm reading "The Book of Lenses," which has some good ideas on how to practice prototyping with paper. Last year I read a book with drills on making board games, which helped some. Can anyone point me to exercises to develop my skill in this area? Or offer any advice generally? (I'm posting here because I think it would be fun to learn Unity as part of my next project, but also because this design forum here is much livelier than the equilavent forums in Godot or Gamemaker.) Thanks in advance.

angrypenguin and Martin_H like this.
  2. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER