Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Creating own graphics from scratch or using others graphics?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by unity_P0X207LzI7FZyA, May 9, 2019.

1. unity_P0X207LzI7FZyA

unity_P0X207LzI7FZyA

Hi, I am a solo game developer, and I am working on my first 3d game. I am wondering if i should use free graphic assets, or use a program like blender to create my own environment from scratch. My concern are that I would run into legal issues using someone else's work. I don't mind making 3D models, but I want to be as efficient as possible.

2. SparrowGS

SparrowGS

When using someone elses assets, be it code or graphics, look for a license, it will tell you exactly what you can and can't do.
    If theres no license or it is unclear contact the creator and ask.

3. ensiferum888

ensiferum888

It depend on what your situation is. Did you quit your day job to make a living from games? If so do you still have a lot of money left or are you starting to wonder what you're going to eat next week?

If you don't want to bother learning modeling (and everything that comes with it) and can afford it you could buy the models and concentrate your efforts on actually making your game. The "cons" to this are that you might have a hard time finding assets that fits the aesthetic of your game since they might come from different creators. You might end up using assets which are not exclusive to you so that one day another game with exactly the same assets might come out and it might even come out before you're finished with yours.

If you don't mind the time sunk into learning about modeling, rigging, animating, unrwapping, texturing, baking then I would suggest you do so. Not only is it extremely fun but it's also rewarding to look at your game and say "I made this".