Search Unity

Creating own backend for a 2d game with websockets

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Jeunas, Jul 6, 2019.

1. Jeunas

Jeunas

Hello

My friend and I are trying to create a mobile 2d game, with a backend in Java Spring Boot, where multiple players can attack a monster. We thought that it would be cool that when someone does damage to the monster, other clients show that damage without the other clients 'asking' if there are changes. I researched this a bit and found that websockets (STOMP) could be the answer. After a lot of trying different things I can't really get it to work. I can get the backend to work, but I fail to integrate this into Unity, I can't seem to be able to 'subscribe' to a route so that the Unity client can receive the messages that the server sends. Is this the way to go or should we try something else?

2. DrIndie

DrIndie

I've little knowledge about this topic, I'd tell you how I'm managing my game backend with little experience if you're interested in changing your approach.

Firebase (Google Backend As a Service), provides Unity SDK which integrates authentication, push-notification, real-time database (via websockets), and cloud-function (for custom backend logic). You can develop simple-medium complexity games with it pretty easily or integrate it with Google-Cloud-Platform in case your backend requires more advanced products (which is unlikely).

Features:
    - Authentication (Anonymous, username/password, and a lot more) totally free.
    - Real-time database (connection via Websockets) which has a sync functionality between connected clients to a specific node (room).
    - Unity SDK.
    - NoSQL database.
    - Cloud-funcitons for custom backend logic.
    - Total integration with other GCP products.
    And a lot more.