Search Unity

Creating Environments (Unity or Maya)

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by euphemius, Mar 22, 2018.

1. euphemius

euphemius

I'm a beginner in both Unity and Maya, but have the basics down and I'm thinking about environments and the best way to go about creating them. Is there a general preference on the best way to do this? I can create environments in Maya pretty easily with the brush tools for trees, plants, grass, etc., but also same with Unity with assets from the asset store.

Is there any downside to doing it in Maya and like just importing it to Unity? And is it possible to import whole environments to Unity from Maya without much issue (like still being able to add colliders and everything?)

Or is it better to create each tree as an individual file and use those in Unity? That seems like a pain if you have many many kinds of trees and whatnot, but some videos I've seen show that.

Thanks!

Last edited: Mar 22, 2018
  2. orb

orb

If you import whole Maya models as the map I guess you lose some control over objects (everything would use one huge mesh collider), but it should still be possible to set pivot points on parts (doors, for example) so that you could animate them in Unity. Just subdivide and name parts of the model so you have a way to reference them inside Unity. Not sure if there is still a hard vertex limit on meshes, but that might depend on formats.

The benefits of breaking up maps into objects you place inside the Unity editor include the ability to set objects which absolutely do not move to static, occlusion culling of said objects, GPU instancing (render buildings and trees using the same model in fewer draw calls, even with material changes) and the ability to use simpler box colliders where applicable. And of course each object which needs it can have its own script.