Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Creating big multi-tile maps with streaming, new veg tools, etc.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by gecko, Jul 10, 2018.

1. gecko

gecko

I've been working for many months now on some big game worlds, trying to figure out the best tools and workflow for large maps. I had assumed this was pretty well established by now and have been surprised at how much I've had to puzzle through to figure out best procedures. So I'm starting this thread to share notes with others grappling with the same challenge and hopefully we can help each other figure out the best way to do this. (Note: I understand that Unity 2018.3 will have some significant improvements to terrain, though they're a bit vague at this point and I am not too confident that they'll be ready for production in 2018.3, and we can't wait for 2019.1.)

Here's what I'm doing:

Terrain
    I'm making a (new version of a) game set in Yellowstone National. Park; we'll have three areas represented in the game, each 7x7km in extent. We use World Composer to pull down the map data, then refine the heightmap with World Creator, and then use Terrain Composer 2 to paint splats and lay down grass, while also splitting it into an 8x8 multi-terrain array.) Because these are realworld locations, we can't design the maps for optimal performance -- most places on the maps have very long (10-30+ km) sightlines, so we can't use clever methods to limit the player's views. Then we use MicroSplat because it offers incredible features and performance.

Streaming Setup