Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Creating an RTS game using DOTS-Stack

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by stefan-falk, Jan 6, 2020.

1. stefan-falk

stefan-falk

Hi!

As the title states, I want to build an RTS game. My handicap is, that I am new to Unity and therefore also new to DOTS. However, after a few days of digging into how DOTS works, I am confident that I do not want to go the "conventional"
    MonoBehaviour
    -road, but instead use ECS right from the beginning.

I've been adviced to not go this raod but honestly speaking: I think DOTS, or to be more specific, the ECS system, feels a lot more intuitive even though it's purpose and focus lies more on performance and less on the ease of use (even though the latter is also being worked on from what I saw).

Anyway, there are already some sources which can get one started with DOTS but what I am struggling to find is something that could help me with the networking part of my game.

I realize, that Lockstep is the "default" solution for an RTS but there seems to be a shift towards server-client architectures even for those. But since my game is supposed to work with multiple players, say 8 to 12 players, and allow a huge amount of units (Supreme Commander comes to mind
    ), I am not so sure if the server-client approach will work for me.

Now, with Connected Games we shall see a major update and improvement for Unitys' networking layer, but it's hard for me to look through all this and how I might be able to use or benefit from it.

Since I am just starting to develop my game, there are two main questions that I'd hope to find an answer to:

1. Do I already have to think about networking from the beginning or can I work on this once the core components of the game are implemented?