Search Unity

Creating a Square Pyramid

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Dirtydog101, May 7, 2018.

1. Dirtydog101

Dirtydog101

Hi, I'm a beginner in unity little experience, I was wondering if any of you guys know how to make a square pyramid code for unity I am going to use it for a project for school but don't know how to yet.

folino9 likes this.
  2. FMark92

FMark92

What, like a square circle and triangular sphere?

3. Schneider21

Schneider21

A square pyramid is a shape that has a square as a base, with four lateral, triangular faces that share a common vertex at the top. This is in contrast to a triangular pyramid that has a 3-sided base, or a triangular prism that has a square/rectangular base with 2 triangular and 2 rectangular lateral faces.

So I know you were trying to be funny, but the OP wasn't incorrect in their statement, and ideally a person's first post on these forums wouldn't be met with unhelpful, sarcastic responses.

@Dirtydog101, is the point of your project to generate the pyramid shape through code? Or do you just need the shape as part of a larger project?

If you just need it in order to do something else, you may be better off creating the shape in a 3D modeling program. I use Blender because it's free. If you have measurements you need, I can even create the shape for you, if you like.

Alternatively, Unity now includes Pro Builder, which can be used to generate meshes in the editor. I've only tinkered around with it and don't quite have a handle on it, so I'm not sure if it can create a pyramid shape, but I would assume so.

If you need to generate the shape as part of the project, you'll want to look into procedural mesh generation. I haven't done much of this myself, but a simple mesh like a square pyramid shouldn't be too involved.

Can you tell us more about what you're trying to achieve here?

4. FMark92

FMark92

Lu4e likes this.
  5. Schneider21

Schneider21