Search Unity

Creating a 'new' and empty Prefab

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by TheeKennyMcB, Dec 19, 2018.

1. TheeKennyMcB

TheeKennyMcB

Hi! I'm new to unity!
    I'm a 3D artist, and I'm slowly learning the environment.

I understand what a Prefab essentially is. Currently I'm only able to drag an object from my Hierarchy to my Asset folder to convert it into a Prefab.

I would like to go to Asset>Create>Prefab
    This doesn't seem to exist.

Is there not a way to simply create an empty Prefab and add to it without starting from a Parent Object.
    I thought of doing this with an Empty Game Object, but it still treats the game object as the Parent in the Prefab.

I've looked around the web, read some forums, and watched videos.
    Still searching, so I came here.
    Currently using 2018.3.of2

Thanks,
    Kenny

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

Welcome to the forums!

What would an empty prefab look like, in your mind? GameObjects are the core element in Unity. If something can exist in a scene, it's a GameObject.

How, more specifically, do you need it to function when creating a prefab?

Ryiah and JoeStrout like this.
  3. TheeKennyMcB

TheeKennyMcB

Hey! Thank you for your response!

Since I'm learning from the ground up, I'm trying to understand the logic of the software and how to go about things in a clean way.

A prefab to me is a micro-scene that stands alone. It's an asset, like a scene, or a mesh, or an animation.
    You can spawn it as a Game Object, much like a mesh.

But ultimately it's a empty asset that can host any number of assets or game object to be spawned into a scene.
    Scenes, meshes, animations are not GameObject or Prefabs. Unless they're spawned in the unity scene.

When working in a 3D modeling software like Max or Maya, it's similar to when you have a 3D scene file with a rigged character in it. But you then can spawn an instance of that scene into another scene to actually animate it.