Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Creating a Driving/Bus Simulator....

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by chrisieb, Feb 9, 2013.

1. chrisieb

chrisieb

Hi,
    First off, this is my first post and I'd like to say that I've downloaded the free Unity 4 last week ago and since, I've been playing around with it. I also have Blender, so yeah.
    I plan on making a Bus Simulator but I don't know where to start. I know a bit of 3D but I am completely new to programming. I am the only one making this game, I have a lot of spare time though (on weekends). I've given myself 1 year to complete it.
    The question is, how to make a physically stable and realistic bus and how do I create the Traffic Lights (going from red to green)for example ..? Also, what about NPCs ( cars and people on the streets)? Once again, I am new to the whole Game Developing idea.
    I'm guessing I am not the first one to ask this question, but I still don't know where to start.:confused:
    I know there is the "Car Tutorial" asset and all, but I am not sure that is what I need for my Bus Sim. (correct me if I'm wrong). Should i look into Edy's vehicle Physics? I don't have money for the $60.
    Thanks in advance,
    Chris

EDIT: Please tell me if i should post this in another section.

Last edited: Feb 9, 2013
  2. Meltdown

Meltdown

You're aiming too high for your first project.
    For your first a one year bus simulator project is not a good idea.

Go and make 3 or 4 very small games, and finish them, start to end. Draw up a solid GDD for each game, and use that as your reference.
    Invest in a decent GUI such as NGUI or use the free version.

A simple pong or other arcade game with a GUI, scoring system and menu will be a great start, then ramp it up a bit from there.