Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct here to familiarize yourself with the rules and how to post constructively.

  2. Unity 2022.1 is now available as the latest Tech release.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your project's performance with our new guide on profiling in Unity.
    Dismiss Notice

Creating A Dark Room?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by paulg568, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. paulg568

    paulg568

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    First off this is my first time using Unity and 3ds max. So I hope what I am asking is simple.

    I have modeled a sewer system by creating a couple different pipes in 3ds max. I textured them and I placed them into unity. My problem is that I have not added a light source anywhere and it has normal lighting inside a sewer pipe when it is closed off from the outside world.

    How do I make it pitch black or close to it inside the sewer?

    My goal is to have a dark sewer system with lights that flicker now and then.

    I tried changing the main camera's skybox to black but that didn't change anything inside the sewer system.

    Thanks.
     
  2. CorruptedHeart

    CorruptedHeart

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Posts:
    379
    You might want to try going to:
    Edit->Render Settings->Ambient Light
    and adjust that.

    Regards,
    Corrupted Heart
     
    lollie009 likes this.
  3. TwiiK

    TwiiK

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,708
  4. paulg568

    paulg568

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks very much. That did the trick!
     
  5. Tom163

    Tom163

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,207
    Note that without ambient light, anything that is not illuminated directly by a light source will also be pitch black, which is not realistic at all.

    One way to avoid that is using the lightmapper in U3 and several bounces. Works nicely in my dungeons.

    Another way (without lightmapper) is to add a few very dim point lights at spots that would reflect light (big walls, ceilings, etc.) to do a cheapo simulation of Global Illumination.
     
  6. BiohazardNinja6

    BiohazardNinja6

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    How do i get to the ambient light settings? I went to edit but i do not see a Render Settings
     
  7. fffMalzbier

    fffMalzbier

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Posts:
    3,255
    Window ->Lighting ->Ambient Source / Ambient Intensity
     
  8. BiohazardNinja6

    BiohazardNinja6

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you, that helped!
     
  9. kangyeye

    kangyeye

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I don't seem to see that either
     
  10. florianalexandru05

    florianalexandru05

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    1,556
    I would like to know how to make a room pitch black while keeping the sunlight outside without baking it lol.
     
unityunity