Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are looking for feedback on the experimental Unity Safe Mode which is aiming to help you resolve compilation errors faster during project startup.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Creating A Dark Room?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by paulg568, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. paulg568

    paulg568

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    First off this is my first time using Unity and 3ds max. So I hope what I am asking is simple.

    I have modeled a sewer system by creating a couple different pipes in 3ds max. I textured them and I placed them into unity. My problem is that I have not added a light source anywhere and it has normal lighting inside a sewer pipe when it is closed off from the outside world.

    How do I make it pitch black or close to it inside the sewer?

    My goal is to have a dark sewer system with lights that flicker now and then.

    I tried changing the main camera's skybox to black but that didn't change anything inside the sewer system.

    Thanks.
     
  2. CorruptedHeart

    CorruptedHeart

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Posts:
    379
    You might want to try going to:
    Edit->Render Settings->Ambient Light
    and adjust that.

    Regards,
    Corrupted Heart
     
    lollie009 likes this.
  3. TwiiK

    TwiiK

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,670
  4. paulg568

    paulg568

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks very much. That did the trick!
     
  5. Tom163

    Tom163

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,040
    Note that without ambient light, anything that is not illuminated directly by a light source will also be pitch black, which is not realistic at all.

    One way to avoid that is using the lightmapper in U3 and several bounces. Works nicely in my dungeons.

    Another way (without lightmapper) is to add a few very dim point lights at spots that would reflect light (big walls, ceilings, etc.) to do a cheapo simulation of Global Illumination.
     
  6. BiohazardNinja6

    BiohazardNinja6

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    How do i get to the ambient light settings? I went to edit but i do not see a Render Settings
     
  7. fffMalzbier

    fffMalzbier

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Posts:
    3,091
    Window ->Lighting ->Ambient Source / Ambient Intensity
     
  8. BiohazardNinja6

    BiohazardNinja6

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you, that helped!
     
unityunity