Search Unity

Creating a block based game ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tyridge78, Feb 23, 2014.

1. Tyridge78

Tyridge78

Hey all! I'm new to Unity and fairly experienced with programming . My friends and I had this ides forever about a block based game sort of like minecraft's style. However it's completely different and it will involve lots of destruction and chaos. I've always had an idea of what I want to do . For instance , I dream of having the whole server represent a universe , and the individual maps/areas a world , and I hope to make the client smoothly render in between them simulating a very very large playing area(many kilometers large), with the players being connected to one of the many worlds inside of the universe , inside of the server . In theory this should allow a server with thousands of players. Phew! Well I hope you understand the hierarchy I am trying to explain .

MY MAIN QUESTIONS ARE:
    1. Do you think Unity will work well with block based gameplay and massive destruction ? Will it be able to handle it ? Or should we just spend years writing our own engine with OpenGL or something ?

2. Do you think what I was talking about , the smooth transitions in between worlds once you leave the grid boundaries of another , will be able to work ? And do you think unity is the right engine and approach over all?

erliwsr786 likes this.
  2. avadlamani

avadlamani

3. Tyridge78

Tyridge78

That didn't help me at all. This is more of a general question on unity's abilities .

4. carking1996

carking1996

Unity can do anything you want it to do. It's the skill of the developer that makes the difference.

Though, creating a minecraft-like game is extremely complex with the environments.

5. Tyridge78

Tyridge78

So then would you reccomend anything else?

6. AndrewGrayGames

AndrewGrayGames