Search Unity

Creating a Basic Platformer Game (Outdated?)

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Clock_Codes, Nov 13, 2017.

1. Clock_Codes

Clock_Codes

Hello so I'm pretty new to Unity and I've been tooling around with the personal version. I did the roller ball tutorial, it was good stuff. But my interest is more in 2D games so I found this tutorial

https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/topics/2d-game-creation/creating-basic-platformer-game

However after ~18 minutes when I test the Simple Platform Controller we built, everything goes haywire. I spent a few hours working through some of the problems but I even copy + pasted their code over mine and I just can't get it to work.

1) Player was completely unaffected by gravity. I could move left and right but it just floated in the starting position. I fixed this by turning off Apply Root Motion.

2) Now the player hit the ground when I hit start, but when I moved the entire ground would tilt back and forth. Fixed by changing its Animator's Update Mode from "Animate Physics" to "Normal". Voila now the player hits the ground and it acts like ground.

3) But the player continually slides along the ground after I end input. So I did some google fu and it looks like RigidBody.MovePosition is what I should be using instead of what the tutorial says (I've yet to implement this).

4) Also I cannot jump at all.

5) Also also half the potato man's limbs disappear when I move (the backside ones, his left foot and hand).

X) completely unrelated but I couldn't post this as a question on answers (idk if that would have been better than here) as it just takes me to my profile.

I did find a separate 2D platformer tutorial while searching for a Q&A to the one I'm currently using. Should I just scrap what I have and use this?

https://forum.unity.com/threads/creating-a-2d-platformer-controller.316404/

2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b