Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

ProBuilder Creates a new shape on play

Discussion in 'World Building' started by pbritton, Mar 8, 2020.

  1. pbritton

    pbritton

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    85
    Every-time I enter play-mode Pro-builder creates a new shape based on the last shape that was created. My current work around is to the take the random shape that it generates, move it away from the area I am testing. If I delete the shape, it re-creates it at the point relative to the scene camera. Is there a fix for this particular problem?:(
     
  2. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    437
    There was a bug that caused this to happen when the Shape Editor window is open. It is fixed on the latest preview.
     
  3. pbritton

    pbritton

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    85
    I will update to resolve the issue. Thank you for the update.
     
  4. pbritton

    pbritton

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    85
    Unfortunately the problem still persist. Its triggered on two occasions, script recompiling and play mode. If I ignore it, it just keeps creating an additional cube make the previous one missing the mesh.
     
  5. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    437
    The Shape Editor will show a blue tinted preview object in the Scene View if it's left open. Is that what you're seeing?
     
  6. pbritton

    pbritton

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    85
    I have probuilder loaded as a tab. Even if I remove the tab the problem still persists because it was pre-loaded. The video link shows the stairs (the last thing I built with probuilder) being generated after my scripts compile.
     
  7. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    437
    What version of ProBuilder are you using (you can check in the Package Manager window)?
     
  8. pbritton

    pbritton

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    85
    I am currently using 4.3. This is even more problematic when editing prefabs and compiling scripts. It would add a shape to the preview and because it doesn't flag the prefab as dirty it automatically saves the prefab with the added shape. I found several of my prefabs with random shapes added. This problem persist even when probuilder window is not loaded.
     
  9. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    437
    Can you please file a bug report to this effect? It is not an issue that we are aware of.
     
  10. pbritton

    pbritton

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    85
    No problem.
     
    kaarrrllll likes this.
  11. fuzzysmurf

    fuzzysmurf

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    82
    I had this same issue. When I closed the Shape Editor, it stopped.
     
    FreshDeveloper likes this.
  12. farrellart

    farrellart

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    I am seeing this too, it seems to happen randomly, but, it might be down to an accidentally unbuilt shape.
     
  13. tex-murph

    tex-murph

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Same issue using Pro Builder 4.2.3 with 2019.3.13f1. It has come up in other versions but I can't recall details.
    Normally this goes away when I have the "New Shape" tab closed, but today while play testing, a new shape is created when I jump at a specific spot in my level. Very odd - everything is fine except for when I jump to progress in this one spot. This is not due to the space key being hit - I can jump fine in every other spot of the level. The level is a simple blockout with no scripting being triggered.
     
  14. paulbettner

    paulbettner

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    I have the same issue, and I do not have any pro-builder windows open at all. I'm using Unity 2020.1.3f1, on a macbook pro.
     
  15. luichy

    luichy

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Same here!

    UPDATE: I managed to resolve it by closing the "create new shape" ProBuilder window. Somehow it was opened and was creating a preview of the last shape you used. I restarted Unity and it showed the window in question so I closed it and it went away.
     
  16. daire43

    daire43

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I am experiencing the same issue with ProBuilder 4.4.4.

    Solution: Close Shape Editor Tab.
     
  17. DavidJThorpe

    DavidJThorpe

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I'm experiencing the same on Unity 2019.4.17 and ProBuilder 4.4.0, but closing the Shape Editor tab/window does not resolve the issue. Previously closing the tab worked, but since last night it is still creating a shape on every play/stop or scripting recompile
     
    FreshDeveloper likes this.
  18. FreshDeveloper

    FreshDeveloper

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Closing the "Shape Editor" tab is the exact solution, thanks to all who wrote this solution. This bug is kinda annoying but that solved after too many tries, removing and installing again. Just close that tab and it's solved!
     
  19. ShaseOfBase

    ShaseOfBase

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Super annoying that this still exists. 2020.2.5. The shape editor disappears from site and is not hiding as a window under unity or anything else but is still somehow around and causes this bug. You have to go to tools -> window -> editors -> Open shape editor menu item to open it again and then close it. I wouldn't be writing this here if it hadn't persisted throughout the last year or more, seriously, this has got to be an easy one to fix?
     
unityunity