Search Unity

Create Multiplayer without Photon or UNet

Discussion in 'UNet' started by arth_pm, Apr 9, 2019.

1. arth_pm

arth_pm

Hi, guys,

I am studying at college and one of the courses I have is Distributed Systems. In this course, my group and I have to create a project and we have to implement something that uses a Client-2-Server or P2P style. Our first idea was to create a 2D/3D game that has a multiplayer mode in it. However, we presented the idea to our teacher and he said that the tools Unity has, such as Photon or UNet, are "too simple". He wants us to implement the communication part, creating sockets or something else in order to achieve the multiplayer part.

I researched a little bit and found that it is possible to use JSON to create this part of the game, but I am a little bit lost in what I should do. Anyone has tips in this part? I don't know how we would be able to synchronize players' positions and also share vital informations of the game without using Network Manager or Photon Unity.

Thanks in advance!

2. LukeDawn

LukeDawn

You can use sockets in Unity, no problem. If you've been working with sockets on the course already, you should have no issues at all, if not, do some googling/youtubing on using sockets with Unity. You're bound to find a ton of stuff and some snippets of code to start you off.

Best of luck (skill)!

3. arth_pm

arth_pm

Thank you, Luke! So, basically, I have to create a socket between client and server, which will be responsible for sending vital informations, such as players positions and other stuff... Would you recommend me TCP or UDP ? And would you recommend me implementing everything in the client side, so the server would be only responsible for receiving/sending data or do you think it would be best to implement a part of the game(rooms, maps,for example) into the server part?

Thank you again !

4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

TCP vs UDP depends on the game.