Search Unity

Create Mesh in unity using Kinect

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by sandhya_123, Feb 2, 2015.

  1. sandhya_123

    sandhya_123

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    How to create mesh of kinect user in unity???
     
  2. Samuel411

    Samuel411

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Posts:
    627
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2015
  3. lmbarns

    lmbarns

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,473
  4. sandhya_123

    sandhya_123

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Is it possible to create mesh with kinect v1???
     
  5. Samuel411

    Samuel411

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Posts:
    627
    Every kinect has a depth map as far as I know.
     
  6. sandhya_123

    sandhya_123

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you...
     
  7. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,104
  8. lmbarns

    lmbarns

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,473
    The kinect 1 has terrible resolution. It'll look bad, perform bad, etc.

    Kinect v1 RGB cam is 640×480 vs. 1920x1080 for the v2
    Kinect v1 Depth sensor is 320×240 in v1 vs. 512×424 in v2

    And the speed is much slower than the new generation of hardware, drivers, etc, the v1 is very outdated.

    Download skanect and try it for yourself, that's the best you're going to get with a kinect v1, so see if the mesh it makes is up to your standards.