Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Create large environment with water

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by oerdy, Oct 19, 2017.

1. oerdy

oerdy

Hello,

I have a specific task at hand and I have probably a couple of ways to achieve it. I want to create an offshore installation scene, which covers 20km x 20km in real world dimensions (mostly water and some windturbines). The goal of my subject is to simulate different sea states with different wind speeds similar to the beaufort scale. See here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beaufort_scale
    With the standard water asset I couldn't get far.

What is the best way to achieve my task? I'm no expert in 3d-modelling or unity so I need your help.
    As far my understanding goes, the standard water asset is using a bump map to create the waves. The wave movement is achieved by simply moving the bump map. I tried to use different bump maps, which I created with 3ds max. But my results are not where they need to be and looked quite similar to the waves from the standard asset, even I created rather large waves in 3ds max.
    I found the Suimono Water System Asset in the store but it seems like it has some problems with VR (which is a requirement).
    Is it feasible to create a large water surface and animate it (in 3ds max easily achieved which houdini ocean) and then export it to unity? I tried a smaller patch (1000x1000) with a file size around 70MB. I figure that this will reduce my framerate to almost zero?
    Is tiling an option? Can I create one tile and duplicate it in the scene or will have this the same effect?

Or is there another way?

Thanks in advance

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout