Search Unity

Create Landscapes and Terrain Faster

Discussion in 'World Building' started by AskCarol, Apr 8, 2020.

  1. Strawberries73

    Strawberries73

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    I am a new developer creating an island game with a couple of people. The island has different sections. The player has to do something to unlock the next area of the island. So my question is: Do I need to create each section of the island separately? Because I thought I could just create one terrain island with unlockable barriers between each section and open those barriers by even triggers. Note: I am creating the island assets and most of the models in 3Dmax.
     
  2. seldemirov

    seldemirov

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Posts:
    29
    Hi! I sent a bug report but I'm not sure it will get through. After sending, Bug Reporter reports a connection error.

    Contents Of Bug Report:
    When I installed the Terrain and ProGrids asset. I tried to change the size of the texture brush using the hotkey - "[","]". Then I got an error with a hotkey conflict. I chose which option to use and clicked "Rebind Selected". After that, the problem was not resolved and I got another one - if I click on the left mouse button, my brush size changes. Drawing has stopped working. I can't solve the problem. Saves only "Reset Packages to Defaults"

     
  3. BahaX9810

    BahaX9810

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    When ever I try to use Height Map (From World Machine) I get This Result, is there anyway to fix Why.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2020
  4. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,089
    That looks like 8-bit. You should use 16-bit.
     
  5. razzraziel

    razzraziel

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Posts:
    211
    Creating landscapes is no problem, there are also tons of other tools to create heightmaps. The problem is Unity doesn't support open world or do anything about that.
     
  6. Gokcan

    Gokcan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    252
    I agree. Terrain tools development is in a rest state for a long time. Water system, open worlds, proper handling trees and grass... Lots of lack of features and no news about these
     
  7. EagleG

    EagleG

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Posts:
    106
    They did add a performant grass system in the latest version but nothing for trees and terrain streaming for open worlds
    (the development isn't at rest... This year they worked on bug fixing and to bring terrain tools out of preview)
     
    Gokcan likes this.
unityunity