Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

[CRASH][CASE 1090022] 2018.3b5 perma-crash with one project during import process on MAC

Discussion in '2018.3 Beta' started by aurelien-morel-ubiant, Oct 11, 2018.

  1. aurelien-morel-ubiant

    aurelien-morel-ubiant

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    275
    Hello,
    we switch yesterday to unity 2018.3b5 on our main computer (Windows 10) and everything works now.

    So we tried to do the same on our building machine which is a MAC (OS X 10.13) and it just crashed on first import process (library creation) so we don't even reach unity engine interface.

    I tried to dig a lil bit deeper by excluding all elements that could or not trigger this issue so :
    - It's not related to beta 5 properly cause I tried to open our 2 others projects and Unity opens them well.

    My next step was to delete "Library" folder and make a fresh import but it crashed.
    Then I remembered we used "CacheServer" system so it could maybe corrupt the import process with cached asset (I didn't think it could be that but I would exclude this possibility).
    I opened and empty project to allow me to reach this in Unity and I disabled it.

    - So I removed once again Library folder and try to open again my project this time with no cache server and it crashed again.

    So it's clearly for something in the Asset Importing process but I can't figure out what cause I removed each external point to Unity or our project.

    So I tried to look the Editor.log to see where the import process stop.
    It seems to be on a custom a ".asset" that we create.

    So just to be sure it's triggered by this particular element, I tried to start again Unity and check if the import process failed at the same place.
    And surprisingly it doesn't.
    Each time I start the import process, it seems Unity can go further and further. I don't reach the end of importing process cause our project is quite big.

    I can submit a bug, but I don't know how submit it without giving you our entire project. :/
    Still trying to find a better step process but nothing new currently.

    Aurelien.
     
  2. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,123
    We are experiancing this exact issue on one of our PC's at work. It is exactly as you describe - the Editor.log shows that it crashes when it is attempting to remap the GUID of some random .asset file. We followed the exact same steps as you. There are 6 PC's at the office, they all work fine except for this one.
     
  3. aurelien-morel-ubiant

    aurelien-morel-ubiant

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    275
    Glad to ear that I'm not alone. So it's maybe not MAC related if you are on a PC (Windows 10 I think).
    @Prodigga can you confirm it's not Mac but true PC Windows ?
    I try to restart again to find a pattern or something.

    What I can see it's Unity always failing on the same files in the same order for what I can see right now.
    I cleared once again my Library/Temp folder to force a fresh import once again.

    And the first file where it fails it's the same than the previous time I checked this.

    I just copy / paste some stacktraces in the same order than Unity crashed during the import process here :
    https://pastebin.com/Tk8Gz7Mp

    It seems to be related to YAMLReading so Serialization/Import stuff.

    Still digging...
     
  4. aurelien-morel-ubiant

    aurelien-morel-ubiant

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    275
    @LeonhardP could it be related to this issue ?
    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...-abstract-type-in-prefabs-crash-during-import

    cause this issue :
    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/issues/crash-when-importing-package-from-the-asset-store

    is marked as duplicate whereas it seems to happen in 2018.3b5 so I'm questionning myself on my bug could be related to those 2 tickets (first) and does the first ticket really fixed in b5 ?

    Even if for us it seems to crash on prefab AND ON ".asset"

    Cause it's marked as fixed but without any 2018.3 version any hint or news on this one ?

    EDIT : I can confirm it's due to this bug :
    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/issues/cross-references-of-abstract-type-in-prefabs-crash-during-import

    I removed 3 references on prefabs that contains scripts that inherited from an abstract script and te problem is gone.
    But in the current state, we just can't open the project until it's fixed in the engine cause almost all our prefabs get scripts with inheritance
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018
  5. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,136
    aurelien-morel-ubiant likes this.
  6. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,123
    I just wanted to chime in and confirm that we are on a Windows 10 machine, not a mac, not a VM. The machines in the office are almost identical in spec and only one of them has this issue.
     
  7. aurelien-morel-ubiant

    aurelien-morel-ubiant

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    275
    @LeonhardP the issue was only on b5 or could it be reproduced on previous beta version ?

    When I switch the project from b2 to b5 it will trigger the issue.
    So I uninstall the b5 and install the b4. Clean up the Library folder and import the project again with b4 and it works.
    Then, I switch the project from b4 to b5 it will not trigger the issue.
    If I delete library then I reimport all from scratch to b5 it will trigger again the issue.

    If I try to create a project with your tools from bitbucket to create a lighter project with one of the asset/prefab that crash during the import process the new project doesn't crash.

    I will try to send you our entire project but it will be quite huge. But I don't really have other solution :/

    I created a ticket with our entire project to be sure you can trigger the issue, the case is 1090022
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
    LeonhardP likes this.
  8. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,136
    @Lisz your issue was identified as a duplicate, as you already suspected. The fix for it is in b6. If it turns out that this version still has the issue, please reply via email to the confirmation email you you received after submitting your report.
     
    aurelien-morel-ubiant likes this.
  9. aurelien-morel-ubiant

    aurelien-morel-ubiant

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    275
    Ok thanks ! Good to know it must be fixed in b6. One more day to wait :)
     
    LeonhardP likes this.