Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Couldn't find the packages list. Be sure there is a file called PackageImportList in your project

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by TwiiK, Jun 2, 2018.

  1. TwiiK

    TwiiK

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,699
    Getting this error in my project:
    And it always appears with this notice, which I don't get in any other project either:
    Google returns 0 results. Am I the only one with this error? Seems unlikely...

    I'm getting these in one project, not in any other. I'm trying to compare this project to my other projects and I see no differences regarding packages. I haven't got a file named PackageImportList in any of them.

    They appear constantly while I use the editor. I want both of them gone. How?

    I'm not using any packages in this project at the moment.
     
  2. TwiiK

    TwiiK

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,699
    I had exported a prefab from the 3D Game Kit and imported into this project and apparently there was a dll in the scripts folder causing these issues. Deleting it removed both these log messages.
     
  3. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    736
    Hi @TwiiK ,

    I'm sorry about the confusion around this log message. Strangely, this is not related to the *Package Manager*. This is from another Unity sub-system.

    I will try to find someone who could give us a hint of what this log means.

    Regards,

    Pascal
     
    Sonatai likes this.
  4. TwiiK

    TwiiK

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,699
    Thanks, but I was able to fix it by removing the dll file, which I didn't want in there anyway, it was just something that snuck in from the 3D Game Kit. :)
     
    pedro_unity likes this.
  5. saporter

    saporter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    I am having the same problem and do not have anything from a 3D Game Kit. Where should I look to resolve this?
     
    bellavirgilio likes this.
  6. bellavirgilio

    bellavirgilio

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    The files that were causing this issue in my project were located at Assets/Scripts/Editor/PackageManagerAssembly/PackageManagerAssembly.dll. Look for any files with the .dll extension––deleting these fixed it for me!
     
    tinaaaaalee likes this.
  7. avi9111

    avi9111

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    I got this message too, and I also export some asset from 3D Game Kit, still looking for the reason, thanks all of you
     
  8. spinjam

    spinjam

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Had the same problem. Solved adding and empty "PackageImportList.txt" in Assets/Editor/PackageManagerAssembly
     
  9. ShoaibAslamTintash

    ShoaibAslamTintash

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks, this worked for me as well.
     
  10. Usman3tahir

    Usman3tahir

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Its work for me !!!
     
  11. unity_zcEbjUrKpJiihA

    unity_zcEbjUrKpJiihA

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Bei mir gibt es diesen Ordner nicht
    Kann mir jemand Hefen.
     
  12. Acuolo

    Acuolo

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    This work for me too!
     
  13. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,039
    Very annoying error, pops up in the 2020.2 beta versions 5 and 6 ugh
     
  14. UnityMaru

    UnityMaru

    Community Engagement Manager Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Posts:
    958
  15. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,039
    With over 145 bugs reported across my work and personal email, and winning the RTX 2080 in the last beta prize draw, I am a bit spent.

    I will be taking a small break from bug reporting as I need to focus on development of my projects
     
  16. UnityMaru

    UnityMaru

    Community Engagement Manager Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Posts:
    958
    What I can do is just check with the Package Manager team to see if this is on their radar for these versions.
     
  17. UnityMaru

    UnityMaru

    Community Engagement Manager Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Posts:
    958
unityunity