Search Unity

Could Unity add in editor tips and hints on how best to write Burst code?

Discussion in 'Burst' started by Arowx, Dec 16, 2018.

1. Arowx

Arowx

CPUs have batch based SIMD instruction sets that can literally run multiple vector ops a cycle, and in theory the Burst compiler should be able to take advantage of these features.

The thing is as a programmer I don't have any idea of what Burst does or cannot do with the code I give it...

Therefore if the super clever Burst compiler gave me the programmer some hints or tips based on how well my code compiled or how it could be improved to take advantage of SIMD instruction sets and other optimizations then wouldn't that massively improve what ECS can do or I can do with ECS?

Burst is a black box technology to most of us, there will be a few clever programmers who dig into the code it generates and learn to tweak their code to get the best from it, but for the rest of us OK programmers some context relevant hints or tips in editor as feedback would be ideal.

Also as ECS is so complex would some ECS tips for common misconceptions/mistakes also be useful for getting people up to speed...

At least until you bring out the Visual ECS programming where we just present the problem we want ECS to solve in graphical form and you do the rest...

2. 5argon

5argon

I would like to see some examples of convertible bad ECS code pattern, and what would be the tips given for that pattern.

All I can think of are already in the form of library limitations that prevents you from going that way in the first place, like HPC# enforcement or aliasing prevention allowing good assembly to be made.