Search Unity

Could not show banner due to No fill for placement

Discussion in 'Unity Ads & User Acquisition' started by joergipoergi, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. joergipoergi

    joergipoergi

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Hi.

    I am just testing out unity-ads for the first time, using the code provided in the tutorial.

    Video ads work fine, in the editor as well as on my device.

    However, the banner ad dummy only shows up, when I'm in the editor and on my device I get the warning:
    "Could not show banner due to No fill for placement"

    This sounds to me, like there were just no banner ads found to display.

    Now this is confusing, because I have set my application in the dashboard to "testing", so I expected a fake unity banner ad, just like I see for the video-ads. Setting it to "force test-mode off" changes nothing.

    <tldr>
    I am located in Europe. Do banner ads already work in this region at all? I can see, video ads are working, because if I set my application to "force test-mode off" I see real ads.
     
    StarArcher likes this.
  2. ap-unity

    ap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    1,519
    @joergipoergi

    Banners are now available in all regions, depending on our available inventory. We're currently working with our demand partners to ensure Unity developers are able to receive bids and impressions. There is an expected ramp up period but Unity is working toward fulfilling a majority of ad requests.
     
  3. joergipoergi

    joergipoergi

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Thank you for that answer, although I still believe, I should get a dummy-ad while testing.
     
    StarArcher likes this.
  4. ap-unity

    ap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    1,519
    @joergipoergi

    We are working on getting a test banner working consistently to make it easier to test your banner ads integration.
     
  5. itayganor

    itayganor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    Any updates regarding the No Fill issue? test mode ads works fine, but production ads never show up. Always "No fill"..
     
    metalpulp likes this.
  6. CyberInteractiveLLC

    CyberInteractiveLLC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    307
    is this issue affecting everyone or some people only? curios since I was hoping to implement banners in my application soon...
     
  7. NickAndrievsky

    NickAndrievsky

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    The same problem.
     
  8. Shtalis

    Shtalis

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Same problem her with no fill, is there an approximate timeline on the "ramp up period", days, weeks months?
     
  9. braedenk

    braedenk

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    About five or six weeks ago, banner ads used to fill about 30-40% of the time; which isn't great, but I read that it would soon improve... now they don't fill at all, even in test mode. That's not exactly what I'd call a "ramp up period." No idea why the test banner would have a 0% fill rate. That makes no sense.
     
  10. novalain1

    novalain1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Having the same problem, would be great if the test banners worked as expected
     
  11. hollums

    hollums

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    I am also experiencing the same issue notated above by several other users. I did however have banner ads working early on, where in the build the testing Unity banner would appear. However, once I added in Analytics and Monetization services to add in app purchases, my banners stopped working -- the log from my devices always says No fill for Placement and my check every 2 seconds or so for Banner.isReady continuously returns false.

    I have done the following:
    1. Imported the latest Monetization SDK (3.0.1) to my project running Unity 2017.3.0f3
    2. Ensured that my scripts are calling Monetization.Initialize (gameID, testMode) at Awake()
    3. Verified that my project ID's from the Unity dashboard match what is displayed in my service window
    4. Verified that my placement names match what ID I pass to Advertisement.Banner.Show (ID)
    5. Opened UnityConnectSettings.asset in a text editor to verify my game ID's are configured properly
    6. Tested both with Ad services enabled & disabled in the Services window
    7. Tested & verified that this issue is consistent on both Android and iOS platforms.
    Note: An oddity about this is that video test ads are working in my app, on all platforms. Just the banner ads are not working.

    Hoping Unity's team can help me resolve this issue. In the meantime, I've started looking into using Admob or just implementing my own banner ads to promote my own content while Banner.isReady is returning false.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  12. StartStart

    StartStart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    Hey @holllums

    If you using Admob you need to delay some ads clickable, watchable because I got account blocked from them.

    Some players want a lot of special currency in game and they spam to get it.
     
  13. rivafarabi

    rivafarabi

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Is the issue still not solved?

    I tried on Android (Java) and got only one banner appeared. After that the state change to NO FILL for the rest of the test. Though sometimes the state change turns to READY, the placement ID passed from onPlacementContentReady always equals to 'video', not 'banner'

    I set test mode to true, both in code and from the Unity Dashboard.

    The video ads works properly, but the banner, as you can see, a bummer.
     
  14. mas3701

    mas3701

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    I still see a 'no fill' response for all banner ads. I'm in the US, but have not been able to get these ads to work in a non-test mode. Any updates on when Unity will have enough inventory to have this be a useable feature?
     
  15. unity_WBzvaVOBiHlkSQ

    unity_WBzvaVOBiHlkSQ

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    The same problem.
     
  16. Phoenix116

    Phoenix116

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Posts:
    39
    No fill in banners problem here, hope you can solve it
     
  17. lord4800

    lord4800

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Still have same trouble. Logcat return No fill from bannerView.OnAdFailedToLoad
     
  18. unity_-YwBDR1lqVck6A

    unity_-YwBDR1lqVck6A

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Has this issue been solved? I am having the same issue.
     
  19. Shtalis

    Shtalis

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Banner ads are now showing for me, not everywhere but most countries.
     
  20. segant

    segant

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Posts:
    196
    Guys it's working on my old game. But i created new one and i get same error. So i think our games need time to display banner ads.
    Edit: Now old one doesn't work too.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019
  21. ap-unity

    ap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    1,519
    Quick banner update:
    • We are still working to improve the fill rate for banners. This is a high priority for many teams internally and we hope to have improvements deployed soon.
    • Right now, we are not aware of any technical issues with banners. If you see the test banners in Test Mode, then your integration is likely correct.
    • If you do run into any technical problems with banners, please let us know (unityads-support@unity3d.com)
    FYI, you can use the errorCallback in the BannerLoadOptions to confirm if you are having fill issues (in addition to the device log):

    Code (CSharp):
    1. string placement = "banner";
    2.  
    3. public void LoadBanner()
    4. {
    5.     if(!Advertisement.Banner.isLoaded)
    6.     {
    7.         BannerLoadOptions loadOptions = new BannerLoadOptions
    8.         {
    9.             loadCallback = OnBannerLoaded,
    10.             errorCallback = OnBannerError
    11.         };
    12.         Advertisement.Banner.Load(placement, loadOptions);
    13.     }
    14. }
    15. void OnBannerLoaded()
    16. {
    17.     Debug.Log("Banner Loaded");
    18.     Advertisement.Banner.Show(placement);
    19. }
    20. void OnBannerError(string error)
    21. {
    22.     Debug.Log("Banner Error: " + error);
    23. }
     
    Phoenix116 likes this.
  22. GreatMightyMoe

    GreatMightyMoe

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    I am still getting the error: Banner placement returned no fill
    Should I switch to AdMob?
     
  23. StartStart

    StartStart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    No Unity Ads is safety to use. If no banner you can use other ads type.
     
  24. Renanmgs

    Renanmgs

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    Same problem here =C
     
  25. BlueSpirit

    BlueSpirit

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    33
    I'm also getting the "no fill" message. The banner works in testing mode though. I'm located in Europe
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2019
  26. Gnejs

    Gnejs

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    9 months later and it still can't fill properly.. maybe it's time to update your own tutorial for the Banner Ads and include the no-fill handling with a secondary Ad network.. *sigh*..
     
    BodeMiller84 likes this.
  27. BlueSpirit

    BlueSpirit

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    33
    I emailed Unity Ads Support and they replied with:
    I guess I'll switch to something else in the meantime.
     
  28. numetdevelop

    numetdevelop

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    I'm getting "Banner Placement Banner failed to fill"
    what's wrong?
     
  29. segant

    segant

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Posts:
    196
    Unity can't fill request. Because their banners are limited. They can't find advertisers. So that's the reason. There are 2 options. You just use unity ads or other ads.
     
  30. numetdevelop

    numetdevelop

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    You're Right,Actually Banner AD hardly ever run sucessed.
     
  31. ap-unity

    ap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    1,519
    Looking at some internal data, Banner inventory has improved dramatically since my last update. A lot of that improvement has been focused in the US, so not all countries are seeing banners available. We will continue to improve banner availability.

    In the meantime, if banners represent a major issue for you, I would recommend investigating other options. Unity Ads is supported in all of the top mediation platforms, and many do have support for our banner ads:
    https://unityads.unity3d.com/help/resources/mediation
     
  32. hytka81

    hytka81

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    Hi, any updates on this? Is there any chance of getting banner ads visible, for example, in Finland any time soon?
    Basically I had been using test ads with visible test banner the whole time while developing my game, only to realize at launch that real banner ads are not visible :(
     
  33. StartStart

    StartStart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Posts:
    150
    If I'm not wrong there are no longer support for banner ad in Unity Ads.

    You can only use video and rewardVideo.
     
  34. hytka81

    hytka81

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    Well, I got confirmation that banner ads are visible in my game at least in India. And I have not found any documentation that would indicate that they would not be supported anymore. Also I'm using latest version of Unity Ads package and would expect those APIs be dropped/deprecated if not usable at the moment. Hopefully there will be better coverage soon.
     
    StartStart likes this.
  35. Le-Tux

    Le-Tux

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Well.... I lost so many times for this banner... :confused: Unity you should update your documentation.
     
  36. hytka81

    hytka81

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    Hmm, today (just now) I can see banner ad in my game. Never showed up before besides in test mode earlier. Hopefully those are now available more frequently.
     
  37. LeTux

    LeTux

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Can you send your code for showing the Unity ADS ? Maybe we doing wrong ?
     
  38. DrSharky

    DrSharky

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Same problem here. It seems like advertisers go for full page ads, or nothing. If you're here trying to figure out why your banner ad isn't working, it's because Unity doesn't have enough advertisers using banner ads to fulfill your request. It's been over a year, so obviously advertisers will go where the money is, and that is full-page ads.
     
  39. schwertfisch

    schwertfisch

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    No banner ads fills here (Greece) either in 2 of my games that use them.

    Is there some sort of a map that shows the Unity banner ads coverage?
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2020
  40. BlueSpirit

    BlueSpirit

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    33
    Yeah, Unity Ads never worked for me for banner ads. I've been using other networks ever since and it's been working well. I've been using MoPub and hooked up a bunch of ad networks like AdMob, Facebook Audience, etc. as mediation networks for my banner ads.
     
    schwertfisch and DrSharky like this.
  41. Kayson91

    Kayson91

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Still have the same issue too
     
  42. love2uhh

    love2uhh

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    me too .same issue
     
  43. yunisayh

    yunisayh

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    me too .same issue, ios happen No fill for placement banner, WTF
     
  44. yunisayh

    yunisayh

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    can I ask for the code that banner can work.
     
  45. hytka81

    hytka81

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    Actually banner ad was showing up every now and then but not consistently enough. So I started to use admob for the banners.
     
  46. PHLCollective

    PHLCollective

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Posts:
    59
    Hoping this is fixed soon. We have the same issue. Waiting for a thread update.
     
  47. KarMa_PlaYzz

    KarMa_PlaYzz

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Can confirm the problem is still occuring :(
     
  48. lazicoder

    lazicoder

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    yes, Happen all the time. I need a confirmation from unity team. I dont know do they still support banner or not so I can switch to other network
     
  49. yelaex

    yelaex

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Same thing here:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. com.unity3d.services.core.api.Sdk.logError() (line:72) :: No fill for placement BottomStaticBanner
    2.  
     
  50. TK009999

    TK009999

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    I just wanna keep this discussing to the top.

    Until 2021 the issue still happened. :D:D:D:D:D