Search Unity

Question Copy items and currencies from one Environment to other

Discussion in 'Economy' started by matronator, Apr 2, 2022.

1. matronator

matronator

So I'm just starting out with the steps in the Setup Guide page and in the first step "Check your Environments" it suggests to create a new Developing or Staging Environment in addition to the Production one created automatically.

So I do that, but then the next step is "Creating your first Currency" which I thought was weird, because I already created a bunch of stuff earlier. Then I notice that my Environment got switched from Production to the newly created Development one and it has no items, currencies or other things in it.

Is there some way I could copy the stuff from one the Production environment to the Development one?

Luckily now I don't have many items there, but I imagine in the future, it would be a pain maintaining two sets of the same thing on both Environments manually. I mean sure, there might be some differences, but the core game currencies and items that will always be in the game will be the same on both Environments, so it makes sense to be able to easily synchronize them or copy items from one to the other.

Thanks!

HaydeLudos likes this.
  2. Laurie-Unity

Laurie-Unity

Unity Technologies

Hi @matronator,

Thanks for your excellent suggestion. The ability to copy indivudual or multiple Economy definition entries between environments would be a great addition. It would help to streamline the workflow and remove the chance of errors being introduced by manual entry mistakes.

I have logged a feature request and will be sure to update the forum with any news or updates.

Thanks
    Laurie

HaydeLudos and matronator like this.
  3. HaydeLudos

HaydeLudos

Hello,

Any updates on this?

Thanks
    Hayde

4. Laurie-Unity

Laurie-Unity

Unity Technologies

Hi @HaydeLudos

It is still on our roadmap, but we haven't managed to get to it yet and I'm afraid I can't provide an ETA.