Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Controlling Animations Pragmatically

Discussion in 'Animation' started by lordpidey, Apr 16, 2015.

1. lordpidey

lordpidey

Hello, I am working on an entirely 2d, sprite based game, and I think I've coded myself into a hole, and I want to see what people think the best solution is. I am a fairly good programmer, but a novice at Unity.

So, the player has a horrendously complex state-machine, which interacts with many other things besides the animator.

As such, I have created a custom script to handle the state machine.
    The script works perfectly.

However, I have no idea how is best to tie the state machine script to the actual animator.
    Complicating the issue, is that sometimes the state machine shifts into the same state, which should have the animation restart.
    It would also be helpful, but not absolutely necessary for the state machine to know when an animation finishes.

Anyway, what is the best way for me to proceed?

2. Mecanim-Dev

Mecanim-Dev

I do not understand what you are trying to achieve. What do you mean by tie the script to the animator? You can drag and drop the script on the game object that hold that animator and it should be 'tie' to the same gameobject.

3. lordpidey

lordpidey

Perhaps it would be easiest if I wrote some code as an example.

Code (CSharp):
    1. protected void enterIdleState()
    2. {
    3.    do_other_things();
    4.    GetComponent<Animator>().playAnimation("resourcedirectory/idle.anim");
    5. }
    8. protected void handleIdleState()
    9. {
    10.    if (GetComponent<Animator>().AnimationOver()){
    11.      do_something();
    12.      return;
    13.    }
    14.    if (someCondition){
    15.      enterIdleState();