Search Unity

  1. Engage, network and learn at Unite Austin 2017, Oct 3 - 5. Get your ticket today!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Help us improve the editor usability and artist workflows. Join our discussion to provide your feedback.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

content was stopped because a fatal content (web player)

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by webNeophyte, Mar 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. webNeophyte

    webNeophyte

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Is anyone else having problems with the Unity web player randomly giving the "content was stopped because a fatal content" error.

    I tried to see if it was a specific browser or version, but it seems to only mess up some of the time. Is there anything in the coding that potentially makes the web player have issues?

    thanks!
     
  2. iphoneonly118

    iphoneonly118

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Posts:
    96
    I also met this problem too..
    Any comments here?
     
  3. andeeeee

    andeeeee

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Posts:
    8,768
    There seem to be a few situations in which this can occur. Which browser is giving this error? Is it happening with any particular webplayer or can it happen with any player?
     
  4. peterson79

    peterson79

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    I am having this same problem on all browsers on my Mac, any solution? I have the newest plugin, happens on all apps that use unity...
     
  5. andeeeee

    andeeeee

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Posts:
    8,768
    This issue has been demonstrated live by a user but the Unity dev team have not been able to reproduce it. It seems likely that this is actually due to other software installed on the affected computer but we haven't been able to narrow down what this might be yet. Perhaps you can submit a new bug report about this? Any additional information we can get about this problem would be useful.
     
  6. jajaish

    jajaish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    andee - i can confirm that this happens on a brand new macbook air 13". happened on 3.1 but didn't happen on 3.0 when i tried it in the apple store a few weeks back.
     
  7. turi

    turi

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    ..same problem here, I just upgraded to Mac OS 10.6.6 everything was fine on 10.6.5.
    Has anyone solved the problem so far?

    BTW is 2.6.1f3 the very last web player version?

    Thanks
     
  8. toby90

    toby90

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    Having this issue in all Mac browsers, with the latest version of web player. :\
     
  9. toby90

    toby90

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Posts:
    42
    Okay, think I found a remedy for the issue... At least, this worked for me.

    I downloaded the Web Player again, and ran the install process (without removing or uninstalling any previous versions of the webplayer). Then downloaded Flock, the browser, and it seems to work fine now.

    Hope that helps some of you guys!
     
  10. cozza13

    cozza13

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Posts:
    64
    Hi I have users that are seeing a similar problem with MAC these are the settings.

    Model: MacBookPro5,1, BootROM MBP51.007E.B05, 2 processors, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.53 GHz, 4 GB, SMC 1.33f8
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT, NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT, PCIe, 512 MB
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, PCI, 256 MB
    OS 10.6.6.
    Safari 5.03


    Thread d3793d4
    User stack:
    9 ??? (in Safari + 41408) [0x10000a1c0]
    9 NSApplicationMain + 364 (in AppKit) [0x7fff80abe1a8]
    9 -[NSApplication run] + 474 (in AppKit) [0x7fff80ac54da]
    9 ??? (in Safari + 233798) [0x100039146]
    9 -[NSApplication sendEvent:] + 2359 (in AppKit) [0x7fff80b2e14e]
    9 endKeyAndMain + 85 (in AppKit) [0x7fff80c518b3]
    9 -[NSWindow resignKeyWindow] + 401 (in AppKit) [0x7fff80baeb4f]
    9 -[NSNotificationCenter postNotificationName:eek:bject:userInfo:] + 101 (in Foundation) [0x7fff88c5d9ce]
    9 _CFXNotificationPostNotification + 200 (in CoreFoundation) [0x7fff8349d578]
    9 __CFXNotificationPost + 1008 (in CoreFoundation) [0x7fff834b1000]
    9 _nsnote_callback + 167 (in Foundation) [0x7fff88c66a66]
    9 _WKPHPluginInstanceStartTimers + 86 (in WebKit) [0x7fff83605646]
    9 mach_msg_trap + 10 (in libSystem.B.dylib) [0x7fff865942da]
    Kernel stack:
    9 lo64_mach_scall + 77 [0x2a148d]
    9 thread_setuserstack + 405 [0x295156]
    9 mach_msg_overwrite_trap + 274 [0x216c9d]
    9 ipc_kmsg_send + 341 [0x210b20]
    9 ipc_mqueue_send + 359 [0x2112c4]
    9 thread_block + 33 [0x2272e7]
    9 thread_block_reason + 331 [0x227259]
    9 thread_dispatch + 1966 [0x226fba]
    9 machine_switch_context + 753 [0x2a8a6e]
    Thread 9ddcb7c DispatchQueue 2
    User stack:
    9 start_wqthread + 13 (in libSystem.B.dylib) [0x7fff865ae005]
    9 _pthread_wqthread + 353 (in libSystem.B.dylib) [0x7fff865ae168]
    9 _dispatch_worker_thread2 + 252 (in libSystem.B.dylib) [0x7fff865ae83e]
    9 _dispatch_queue_invoke + 185 (in libSystem.B.dylib) [0x7fff865aed14]
    9 kevent + 10 (in libSystem.B.dylib) [0x7fff865ad16a]
    Kernel stack:
    9 kevent + 97 [0x473932]

    Thread 860e000
    User stack:
    9 thread_start + 13 (in libSystem.B.dylib) [0x7fff865cd3e9]
    9 _pthread_start + 331 (in libSystem.B.dylib) [0x7fff865cd536]
    9 ??? (in Safari + 194601) [0x10002f829]
    9 ??? (in Safari + 194713) [0x10002f899]
    9 CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 575 (in CoreFoundation) [0x7fff834a3dbf]
    9 __CFRunLoopRun + 1698 (in CoreFoundation) [0x7fff834a4932]
    9 mach_msg_trap + 10 (in libSystem.B.dylib) [0x7fff865942da]
    Kernel stack:
    9 ipc_mqueue_receive_continue + 0 [0x210ce6]


    ALSO GETTING SAME ERROR IN Firefox.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011
  11. wbl1

    wbl1

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Posts:
    151
    I have a customer with this same problem. He is running on a Windows machine with Internet Explorer. Any resolution on this yet?
     
  12. Paulding

    Paulding

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    We had this happen this morning... on Mac, as well. After 3-4 attempts at entering the page w/ the content, he succeeded, and the problem has gone away.

    I'm pretty sure that this would have been on an autoupgrade from 3.1 to 3.3, if that helps.
     
  13. ahmetDP_1

    ahmetDP_1

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Posts:
    113
    Same errors randomly happenning. Is there still not any reason/fix for this?

    Windows 7 64bit, latest updates, all browsers, Unity projects with 3.4.2f3, unity player version 3.4.2f3
     
  14. TerraSame1

    TerraSame1

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    138
    ie: content was stopped because a fatal content error (web player)

    I am using Alien 18mx and Windows Exporer.
    Recently, I have been dealing with this same issue....
    The project runs excellent on the development computer whether Mac or Win 7.
    After up-loading to my server if I fire up the game over the internet I get that error.
    I have been researching the problem and trying to find the problem....
    So, I started by erasing all terrains and re-upload.... Ran perfect over the internet...
    So, I put all terrains back in and only erased the two terrains that have grown to 17 and 20 meg..... Ran Perfect...
    I put back in both large file terrains and only erased 1.... Re-uploaded and .... ran fine.....
    Again, but with only the other large file terrain back in and other out..... Re-uploaded.... ran fine....
    But both large terrains back in..... Failed right after full load again.....
    It is looking like this problem has to do with simply to much data or too big a file running over the web....
    My project is a 78 meg Web streaming version with 130 terrains and only two terrains with HQ textures and trees....
    This project is not complete and will be growing... Do I need to keep file size to a limit in order to stream???
    Unity Support.... Please conquer this challange.... !
     
  15. KidNamedLox

    KidNamedLox

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    Just ran across this again today. We've seen it here a couple of times on the projects we've worked on. We believe it has either to do with how generics are broken in the version of mono that unity is using or the Component.GetComponent functions have a bug in them that randomly shows its ugly head.

    To fix this, in the code, go through all references to GetComponent, GetComponents, GetComponentInChildren, and GetComponentsInChildren and make sure they refer to the gameObject for these functions.

    So rather than:

    void TestBehaviourFunc()
    {
    Renderer myRenderer = GetComponent<Renderer>();
    }

    you would use

    void TestBehaviourFunc()
    {
    Renderer myRenderer = gameObject.GetComponent<Renderer>();
    }

    If this doesn't work, I'd suggest looking for anything that might be nesting generics, where a class taking a generic parameter has a function taking a different generic parameter.

    Example:

    class TestGeneric<T>
    {
    public TestFunc<G>()
    {
    }
    }

    should be

    class TestGeneric<T>
    {
    public TestFunc(Type secondType)
    {
    }
    }

    The second is a bit clunkier, but at least it doesn't crash the web player.
     
  16. Nima

    Nima

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    75
    Hi,

    I am seeing this issue on a Windows machine with IE 8 and web player version 3.5.7.f6.

    web player log:
    d3d: failed to lock vertex buffer 6B4097A0 [internal driver error]
    d3d: failed to map vertex buffer 6B4097A0 of size 7488 [internal driver error]
    130117 14:12:56 Setting error display: 'The content was stopped because a fatal
    content error has been detected.', details: '', link: 0
    web: shutdown player

    Unloading 0 Unused Serialized files (Serialized files now loaded: 141 / Dirty serialized files: 0)
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  17. kingsleyfs

    kingsleyfs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Hi
    Had this error today and it went away when turned off "Script debugging" "Development mode" when building to webplayer.

    Actual order:
    Building to Android with Script and development ticked.
    Build to Android worked fine
    Switch player to webplayer
    Build to webplayer seemed to work but build crashed browser load (firefox chrome). Got error "Content was stopped" etc
    Unticked Script and Development modes in webplayer
    Build to webplayer worked with no errors.

    Possibly this solution is just "hiding" the error ... and kidNamedLox solution is better.
    I do have a lot of GetComponent statements in my code, but have not gone through them all to check.
    Unity version: 4.0.1f2
     
  18. ABraut

    ABraut

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    This is not a random problem for me.

    I get this error every time I try to run my game from my server on my Windows 7 machine that I built it on. It plays in the Unity program with no errors or warnings. It plays locally through the same *.html on my Windows 7 machine that I built it on. It plays from my Vista machine from the server. I get this error every time I try to run my game from my server on my Windows 7 machine that I built it on.

    Chrome on both machines
    No complaints from Mac user, testing.
    Tried IE on original machine with same problem.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013
  19. Shadowfire959

    Shadowfire959

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Im getting this error on Morzilla Firefox and I need help! Someone help me please it would be greatly apprecaited!
     

    Attached Files:

  20. GarethIW

    GarethIW

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    Also getting this on the Mac webplayer for our Ludum Dare game. All browsers. Windows webplayer is fine.

    Interestingly, the native Linux desktop build of the game also crashes randomly (tested on two Linux mint machines where I have previously run Unity builds just fine). So could be a general *nix issue.

    Using a development build results in no usable error output. Simply "Aborted" in the Linux build when run from terminal and nothing in the output log, and on the Mac webplayer output log it's just the same message as the topic.

    Using 5.0.1 stable.
     
  21. joesaidon

    joesaidon

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Getting this same problem now with a 2010 Macbook built pretty much just for playing BSGO. No problems for months, but now I am getting 10-15 crashes an hour, with occasional 2-hour continuity reverting back to another 4 hour stretch of bollucks. Everything has been tried to the fullest extent, everything has been reinstalled, even the comp was wiped and reinstalled with a fresh ox, no changes. I can't even play for a full five minutes, and it's destroying a quality gaming experience that I worked very hard to get into my life.

    My computer is not the problem, it has got to be something else.

    Was using 10.8, no problems until two weeks ago. Consistent troubleshooting until a complete wipe and reboot to 10.11.2. No other problems with computer, everything is faster and wonderful with all software Except Unity.

    Please hear and fix. I would write the code myself if I knew how.
    Thinking of learning how just so I can fix your frakking game.

    j
     
  22. joesaidon

    joesaidon

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    There are also a number of worrying things in game, like the game's lack of being able to save graphics option menu changes, and controls of this and that drop out at loading, and persist to no work until game window is reloaded. More lag, and odd physics are punching through the game developers' code to make this experience a trying one.
     
  23. holliebuckets

    holliebuckets

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    496
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.