Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Constructor example (Simulation/Editor based game)

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Zylex, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. Zylex

    Zylex

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Posts:
    191

    Constructor example
    Here is my entry for the UniKnowledge contest. It's a working example of a builder/constructor/simulation game. This was based on our minigame "Domino creator".

    Unique features that might be of your interest are starting/stopping simulation, building/deleting objects in the level and finally; saving all these objects in a "data string" via playerprefs.

    Download the example's pdf document here
    Download the example's project folder here

    Make sure to check out other UniKnowledge entries and vote:
    http://forum.unity3d.com/viewtopic.php?p=214371
     
  2. bigkahuna

    bigkahuna

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,435
    Very nicely done. This should be very useful for a lot of people!
     
  3. ozoner

    ozoner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    82
    Thank you very much, so kind of you all.
     
  4. Bastiaens

    Bastiaens

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Posts:
    101
    Very usefull, might take some stuff out of there, really appreciate it :)
     
  5. Zylex

    Zylex

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Posts:
    191
  6. taran0

    taran0

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks this is exactly the kind of thing i was after

    i'm having some problems with this, im getting an error message saying
    "Blender could not be found "

    any idea's i can place objects but when I play nothing happens plus the gui seems to not recognise clicks unless i click slighly above the buttons.

    thanks again.
     
  7. MikeHergaarden

    MikeHergaarden

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Posts:
    999
    That are two seperate issues.

    You can fix this easily (but you don't have to). Unity won't be able to reimport the models unless you install blender (the free 3D tool).

    About the GUI clicking bug: I'm afraid the GUI is hardcoded to a certain window size. Try playing at 600 width, 450 height. Does that help? (You can set the default size at the player settings).
     
  8. taran0

    taran0

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    22
    thanks for claryfying that the gui works at the size you set.

    another really silly question :oops:, how do i get the dominoes to start, when i click play nothing seems to happen and i cant seem to trigger or move anything

    Thanks
     
  9. MikeHergaarden

    MikeHergaarden

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Posts:
    999
    Hmm strange. Please verify that the speed/timescale is at 1.0 (and not at 0; paused). Besides that, dominoes that are stable simply wont fall over, so make sure they *should* actually move (add a ball on top of a slope to be sure)
     
  10. taran0

    taran0

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    22
    yes that works great

    absolutely love this. thanks for sharing

    Taran
     
unityunity