Search Unity

console log

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by walker, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. walker

    walker

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    39
    hi!

    is it possible to deactivate "write to console.log" (maybe a flag in unity_preferences) 1 gb unity_log_file is somewhat oversized
    note: i dont switch off the computer, i set to sleep_mode when im not working
     
  2. kulman

    kulman

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Yeah, I do have the same question about the log files. Just checked the size and it more that 1 gig! For me as the developer logging is nice source of info, but what about the players who does not care?

    Game sends alot RPC calls and they are all logged there, I guess thats why the web-player version runs much slower than a simple win-app build.
     
  3. Adrian

    Adrian

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,065
    What happens if you choose "Strip Debug Symbols" in the Build Settings?

    Otherwise you could create a simple class to replace Unity's Debug. Something like:
    Code (csharp):
    1. class Debug2 {
    2.     public var debugEnabled = true;
    3.    
    4.     public function Log (message) {
    5.         if (debugEnabled) {
    6.             Debug.Log(message);
    7.     }
    8. }
    That should work nicely and you could add different message types to selectively log some messages that might help bug tracking.
     
  4. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,401
    That has nothing to do with logging...debug symbols are what you use with Shark to do profiling.

    --Eric
     
  5. kulman

    kulman

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    But the strange thing is that web-player logs all RPC calls automatically. For example in our game host receives and sends huge amount of RPC calls - the log file becomes enormously big and the host start to lag alot.

    Is there any way to disable that kind of logging?
     
  6. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    You can set debug logging in the Project -> Network Settings.