Search Unity

Considering jumping ship from HDRP to URP (LWRP). What's the difference now?

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by dgoyette, Aug 28, 2019.

1. dgoyette

dgoyette

I've been using HDRP for maybe 8 months now, having migrated from the built-in renderer back in December. I made this decision mainly to start being able to use Shader Graph and the Visual Effects Graph. However, my project is being build for Desktop + PS4 + XBox1, not for mobile or other platforms. So at the time, I chose HDRP believing it was the best choice for those platforms.

However, it now seems that URP is really catching up in terms of visuals. From the 2019.3 beta blog post (https://blogs.unity3d.com/2019/08/27/unity-2019-3-beta-is-now-available/), it seems like URP will soon support all of the post processing effects I'm using in my game.

I'm not really pushing the envelope in terms of graphics, as I'm a solo-dev here generally building everything myself from scratch. You can get a good sense of my look and feel here:

I'm going for realistic, but certainly not next-gen quality. My biggest concern is whether the game will run well for the most possible people, and it seems that HDRP's requirements limit the audience somewhat.

So I'm debating whether it will make sense for me to switch from HDRP to URP in the near future. But I was hoping to quantify the impact of this decision. I was hoping some people might have answers to some of the following, as it's not easy for me to determine this from the existing docs.

1) Are system requirements for URP lower than HDRP?

HDRP requires Shader Model 5.0 graphics card. Is this also the case with URP? In short, would using URP allow more people to play my game?

2) Should I expect better performance from URP than HDRP in general?

Assuming I'm not pushing HDRP to its limits, would you expect a given scene of similar quality to run faster in URP than HDRP?