Search Unity

Connecting to friend's host server with real IP addresses

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by chanfort, Jun 25, 2015.

1. chanfort

chanfort

I noticed that there are plenty of tutorials how to set up a simple multiplayer game by using two windows (one with editor in game mode and another from built game mode). However, I got stuck at the start when I am trying to set up real connection with my friend, who uses computer from remote place (lets assume that my friend is not on the same LAN as me, e.g. lives somewhere in different country). More particular questions here are:

1. How to properly find my and my friend's IP address and port which we could use for setting up host server on one of our computers? (I remember there can be also internal and external IP addresses).

2. When we both find these IP addresses and ports, where we should enter them to properly set up master server and connection?

2. MD_Reptile

MD_Reptile

Disclaimer: I'm still learning the networking too - and haven't tested online play only because I haven't progressed far enough yet.

Anyway yeah just for testing and everything, you can direct connect through IP and port (assuming the appropriate port is forwarded on the firewall/router/modem) by just contacting someone, have them go to whatismyip.com and give you the public ip to them. Then either in your code decide a default port or enter it when starting a server through the gui or something - and hand the port and IP off when you start up the server, or connect the client.