Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
Unity's version control component has been upgraded to Plastic SCM.

Confused by Collaborate

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by watch01, Nov 10, 2017.

1. watch01

watch01

Hi,

I have a few questions.

I am new to Collaborate and still a beginner with Unity. I am using Unity Pro 5.6.3p2. Just want to use Collaborate to back up my main project. I am not making the game with anyone else. I notice I have seven other projects listed which I would like to remove, how do I do that?

My total main project size on my hard drive is 12.9 GB, yet on Collaborate it is 2.47 GB, how does that work?

Also is it normal for the project to take several minutes to load while Collaborate marks all the content with those + signs?

When should I update? Just got the message 'Update now!' I have made one small change recently. If I hit the Update button I get the message "Losing all local project settings" "Your project settings will be overwritten with the project settings you are linking to!" Is that the local files of the project on my PC, or the version on Collaborate that will be overwritten?

In general I find Collaborate very confusing. Appreciate your answers.

2. grimunk

grimunk

It is likely that projects on collaborate are compressed.

Regarding removing projects, I have the same issue. I asked and was told that it's not available at this time because of integrations with other services.

Regarding complexity, have you used other source control solutions before?

3. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

You can archive them if space is a concern.

4. grimunk

grimunk

We are looking to do an actual deletion.

5. watch01

watch01