Search Unity

conflicts among Visual Studio and MonoBehaviour Scripts

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by AdamTegkelidis, Jan 30, 2019.

1. AdamTegkelidis

AdamTegkelidis

Hey Everyone,

Hope you are all doing well. I am new to Unity and a few moment ago I fell into the following problem, trying to attach a C# script into an instance.

FYI I wrote ("copied" mostly) the script inside Visual Studio, saved it and once I tried to drag&drop it onto one of my instances in the scene, I got the following message:

unity-monobehaviour.JPG

I took some time to look in the web for solutions where most people suggested that a built-in version of MonoBehaviour can be assigned as the default script editor inside Unity. However, once I tried to solve this by going into the preferences panel, I saw no other options in the drop-down list besides Visual Studio:

unity-pref.JPG

the options are:
    1. open by file extension
    2. Visual Studio 2017 (Community) and
    3. Browse (browse what and where? there is nothing related to MonoBehaniour in my desktop)

If anyone has any clue concerning the problem and how to fix it, by all means let me know, cause I am having a really bad day here!

Best to all of you,

Adam.

2. dgoyette

dgoyette

This post is kind of all over the place. You seem to be dealing with several issues. I'm also not sure if you're confusing "MonoBehaviour" (a base class used in Unity) with "MonoDevelop" (a code editor)?

For your script issue, are you trying to attach a component named AssemblyInfo onto a Unity GameObject? Does this have anything to do with the .NET AssemblyInfo class? (https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/li...plicationservices.assemblyinfo(v=vs.110).aspx) If so, note that you can only add a component to a GameObject if it inherits from MonoBehaviour. What are you trying to accomplish with AssemblyInfo?