Search Unity

Completely new to Unity and game development as a whole and I have a couple of questions.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by qecyqy, Mar 5, 2019.

1. qecyqy

qecyqy

Hi all, I'm interested in making my own game. I have some experience with source and making custom hl2:dm maps. I want to make something of a multiplayer hunting sim, where the main goal is to bag the biggest buck, or get the most amount of kills in a set time, versus other players. I tried looking elsewhere but I have found no clear or direct answers.

How big can I make my environments in unity? 1 square mile/km, 2, 3, etc? Coming from source engine you can probably see my concern.

How far can unity render an environment without lagging, stuttering and/or downgrading the quality on a medium spec gpu(rx580/gtx1060)without it looking very pixely and blocky? I want to be able to take shots upwards of hundreds of meters away with no zoom magnification using only iron sights.

How many players at one time can unity support? I'm shooting for atleast 100 players maybe more.

Thank you.

2. daerom

daerom

Unity is capable of rendering large terrains quite well out of the box (I've personally made a 10k x 10k terrain). That said, there are some issues you will run into. The first is floating point precision -- after 3k units (meters) or so away from the origin, you will start to experience issues with this. You will need to find a solution for this (you can find them by simply googling). Next, you will need to find a way to optimize your assets both in LODs and potentially streaming of assets. Lastly is creating the actual terrain -- this can be a very painstaking process (especially since you may need to split it up). You might want to check into procedural terrain systems or something like World Creator.