Search Unity

Complete Beginner

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by angelicac2, Jun 3, 2019.

1. angelicac2

angelicac2

As a complete beginner, I am wondering how long will it take to familiarize myself with Unity's gaming interface?
    I have no previous experience with coding or gaming. My graphic background working with Adobe Illustrator/Photoshop/InDesign is what I'm most familiar with. Although I want to expand my creative outlet to the gaming industry since I've always wanted to learn and Unity seems like a good place to start (I am 23 years old). As an artist, I want to combine what I'm familiar with and reach to uncharted territories to expand my abilities.
    If anyone has any tips or suggestions for a complete beginner, it would be appreciated. Especially for basic coding mechanics. I'm very motivated to learn the mechanics of gaming. For now I am doing Unity in-game tutorials, looking through Unity Learn, and Noobtuts.

2. Homicide

Homicide

Heya there. Hope you enjoy unity as much as the rest of us. Its a helluva tool, for sure.

i don't have any particular references / articles / videos etc, i can recommend to you, as i find that *most unity tutorials are centered around you downloading a buncha of pre-built stuff and opening projects that can truly leaving you feeling lost, even as you are being guided through one particular point of interest. Not to mention , but of the 99,999,999 tutorials i have watched (exaggerated for point), almost 99.9% of them have errors due to edited videos and no recaps , or other issues with the instructors presentation, that lead all to often to people experiencing breakages through out the lesson. And lastly, with so many versions of unity, and changes over time, not ALL content is even relevant anymore.

I truly find these kind of tutorials bothersome, and often, completely counter productive. Leaving more questions and unexplained than answered.