Search Unity

Community VR Template

Discussion in 'VR' started by appymedia, Aug 10, 2019.

1. appymedia

appymedia

I'm thinking about try to put together some form of community VR template based only on Unity's native XR features, no 3rd party assets or SDK's. The idea is it keeps things simpler (in theory) and is forward thinking as Unity continue to grow the XR features built in to it.

Bear in mind I'm no expert with Unity or VR so would appreciate any help on this, I'll setup a github repo once I have something that might be useful.

Might be a while but maybe we can solve a few of the issues / best practises ourselves this way?

** EDIT I removed my pre-ramble about UE4, not sure it was relevant here and also now I've spent some more time taking a step back and solving the VR issues I had with Unity I'm really enjoying stuff and surpassed where I am with UE4 by quite a margin but thats probably because I already knew Unity to a minor degree.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
    mgear likes this.
  2. appymedia

appymedia

A little update on this. I've setup a project with the following...

Unity 2019.2.0f1
    LWRP 6.9.1
    Post Processing 2.1.7
    Oculus Desktop 1.38.1
    XR Legacy Input Helpers 2.0.6

I am using a Oculus Rift S with the Oculus version of the software installed as follows 'Oculus app version 1.39.0.272909 (1.39.0.272909)'

So far we have...

XR Rig setup and height set correctly via the old set height script from the 2019.1 VR template.
    Single pass rendering (as multi pass doesn't work and the editor melts down).
    HMD tracking (I just let Unitys built-in XR do that for me without any extra effort).

Input positional and rotational controller tracking....

I added the Tracked Pose Driver onto the right hand and that works fine. For the left hand I setup the new XR input system, again seems to be working fine.