Search Unity

Community Resources

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sleepyCat, Jun 9, 2005.

1. sleepyCat

sleepyCat

Hi,

as I am just a coder with limited artistic talent, I was thinking about something like a page with community created (free) resources (Scripts, Artwork, Prefabs, Textures etc.), maybe even a marketplace with stuff like "will code for art" :)

I don't know but how do you think about that or something similar? (my game production experience is nil)

thx
    Alex

p.s. thanks to the otee guys... incredible what you have done!

2. David-Helgason

David-Helgason

I wonder how to get it up and running... maybe we can start with a forum in here, and then see where it takes us.

These forums support file uploads, so at least technically is possible, if not great. Whoever knows of a better solution, speak up!

3. marty

marty

I suggested something like this a few weeks back too. I think it would be great. The thing is, I'm guessing that we would all like to see the OTEE guys focus their efforts on Unity. At least until Windows export, toon shading, the web-plugin, etc. are done. :wink:

So, I'm guessing that stuff like this is going to have to be more self-sustaining and community-run. There are so many great user-run resource sites for Flash, .Net, Director, etc-developers, so we have plenty of successful models to mooch off of.

While I can't set it up myself, I can promise to support such a site once someone gets it up and running. I think that the Unity community is poised to become the program's best, killer feature - especially when you look at how many of us there already are and how much we seem to believe in this awesome tool already.

So, anyone out there ready to set up the first Unity community website?

4. sleepyCat

sleepyCat