Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

command and conquer RTS type game, AI player. doable?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by dersco, Oct 19, 2022.

1. dersco

dersco

hi, I'm new to unity and just want to know if it's possible to make a C&C styled game with unity and if so where is best to start such as with making AI players to face with different difficulties, where I would make the art as I want to first of make it 2D a little easier on the art side of things and do it for the phone/pc so not a fullHD game more like the old school feel redalert 1 and 2 or more arcade like. I have the basic coding down from unit 1 but would like to know how I'd make it so you click the building and then build units from it that you and the AI will control. I'm still going through unit 2 and see unit 4 has spawning tutorials but not in the same way, as they just spawn after you start whereas you would be deciding when they spawn by clicking the unit icon, I'm sure it'll give of an idea on how to do it but won't tell you how to do it, so even if someone could give me somewhere to go after learning the basics to spawning. any help like pointers and places to start/look at would be greatly appreciated.

2. Homicide

Homicide

OFC its possible. And in fact, i believe theres a (fairly old at this point) well known TANKS game / demo that was 'sort of' rts like in nature. Maybe google that. But yes, you can build nearly anything your mind can imagine. Provided you have the skills. GL

Last edited: Oct 19, 2022
    dersco and JoeStrout like this.
  3. Martin_H

Martin_H

I think there are some videos on youtube how they did things for command and conquer tiberian sun

But I implore you, pick an easier genre for your first project!

dersco likes this.
  4. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER