Search Unity

Combining Shaders

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by uonlyliveonce, Nov 28, 2018.

1. uonlyliveonce

uonlyliveonce

Hello, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to shaders. I have a ghost creature (frag) with a shader that I'm trying to combine with a dissolve effect (surface). I've put them together but the surface shader is on top of the ghost shader. How do I take the output of the ghost shader and feed it into the dissolve? Is it possible?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: Nevermind, I figured it out!

Last edited: Nov 28, 2018
  2. bgolus

bgolus

You don't. You write a new shader that does both in one shader. When you put both a vert / frag shader and a surface shader in one file they're effectively acting like two separate shaders still, just that Unity will try to render one after the other.

uonlyliveonce likes this.
  3. uonlyliveonce

uonlyliveonce

Thank you. I've fixed the problem by converting the frag shader into a surface shader and combining the outputs.

4. Quakeulf

Quakeulf

5. uonlyliveonce

uonlyliveonce

That's the answer I saw before I posted this thread. I tried it and the object had a standard look which dissolved to reveal the ghost shader underneath instead of the ghost shader dissolving to complete transparency. So basically, while both shaders were successfully combined into one shader, the surface shader was on top of the frag shader instead of using the frag shader's output and dissolving that.

I had a similar problem when I wanted to put a black outline on an object with a dissolve shader. When I combined the shaders, instead of dissolving to complete transparency, the object was completely black underneath.

6. bgolus

bgolus