Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Combile work from unity personal to unity pro

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by priyapal, Jul 14, 2018.

  1. priyapal

    priyapal

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I'm working on texturing and shading few models using unity student personal edition. Can the unity output file generated from the personal edition be used in a pro or a plus version of the software?
     
  2. superpig

    superpig

    Quis aedificabit ipsos aedificatores? Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Posts:
    4,044
    Yes. Just remember that you're not allowed to use Unity Personal at the same time as Plus/Pro on one project; when you switch, you have to switch properly, both for yourself and for anyone else on your team.
     
    hippocoder, priyapal and Ryiah like this.
  3. priyapal

    priyapal

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the reply. One more question based on your reply -
    I'm freelancing and working using Unity Personal and the rest of the team are on pro/plus.
    Project wise, these are individual models and I'm texturing these models using Unity Personal. So when I provide these outputs back to my team, would they be able to use it in Pro?
     
  4. AndersMalmgren

    AndersMalmgren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    2,249
    As long as you don't make more than 100k freelancing I guess it's ok, but I'm not sure.
     
  5. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    11,673
    My understanding of the license is that you would need to purchase a subscription for the appropriate tier. I've highlighted the text that mentions this in the image in the spoiler below.

    NoVersionMixing.png
     
    angrypenguin likes this.
  6. superpig

    superpig

    Quis aedificabit ipsos aedificatores? Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Posts:
    4,044
    As I understand things it's a bit of a grey area. We don't want to prevent people who are genuine freelancers getting started in the Unity ecosystem from taking on Pro/Plus clients, but at the same time we do not want organisations who really should have everyone on Pro/Plus to cheat their way out of paying for licenses by declaring their staff as contractors.

    Your best bet is probably to email support@unity3d.com and ask them for an official answer.
     
    AndersMalmgren likes this.